W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > July to September 2011

Re: HTTP, websockets, and redirects

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Thu, 01 Sep 2011 19:03:18 +0200
Message-ID: <4E5FBAD6.50202@gmx.de>
To: Brian Raymor <Brian.Raymor@microsoft.com>
CC: ext Adam Barth <w3c@adambarth.com>, Gabriel Montenegro <Gabriel.Montenegro@microsoft.com>, Thomas Roessler <tlr@w3.org>, Salvatore Loreto <salvatore.loreto@ericsson.com>, "public-ietf-w3c@w3.org" <public-ietf-w3c@w3.org>, WebApps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, Art Barstow <afbarstow@gmail.com>, François Daoust <fd@w3.org>, Eric Rescorla <ekr@rtfm.com>, Harald Alvestrand <harald@alvestrand.no>, Tobias Gondrom <tobias.gondrom@gondrom.org>
On 2011-08-11 06:36, Brian Raymor wrote:
>
> What is the rationale for also failing the websocket connection when a response for authentication is received such as:
>
> 401 Unauthorized
> 407 Proxy Authentication Required
> ...

Note that the web socket setup request can still use http auth; it just 
needs to come from a page that already has been http-authenticated, so 
that the "Authorization" is sent right away.

Best regards, Julian
Received on Thursday, 1 September 2011 17:03:51 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:47 GMT