W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > July to September 2011

Re: Mutation events replacement

From: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>
Date: Fri, 8 Jul 2011 08:12:42 -0700
Message-ID: <CABNRm61g-fxZWVsULnuPN45_TBG25h2pBurY=jSq3NT=RLN98Q@mail.gmail.com>
To: Sean Hogan <shogun70@westnet.com.au>
Cc: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, John J Barton <johnjbarton@johnjbarton.com>, Olli@pettay.fi, Rafael Weinstein <rafaelw@google.com>, Aryeh Gregor <Simetrical+w3c@gmail.com>, Adam Klein <adamk@google.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Webapps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>
On Fri, Jul 8, 2011 at 5:21 AM, Sean Hogan <shogun70@westnet.com.au> wrote:
>
> - MathJax (http://mathjax.org) is a JS lib that facilitates putting math
> onto the web by converting LaTeX or MathML markup in a page to HTML. By
> default MathJax triggers off the onload event to run this conversion on the
> page. When content containing math is dynamically added to the page, MathJax
> must be called manually to convert the new content. A DOM insertion listener
> could potentially be used to handle this conversion automatically.
>
> - A similar use-case is element augmentation too complex for CSS :before
> and :after
>
> - ARIA support in JS libs currently involves updating aria-attributes to be
> appropriate to behavior the lib is implementing. Attribute mutation
> listeners would allow an inverse approach - behaviors being triggered off
> changes to aria-attributes.
>
> - DOM insertion and removal listeners could facilitate the implementation
> of automatically updating Table-of-* (Headings / Images / etc).
>

It seems like all 3 use cases here can be implemented by observers that are
called AFTER the fact, and do not requiere any events or callbacks before
mutation.

- Ryosuke
Received on Friday, 8 July 2011 15:13:39 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:46 GMT