W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > January to March 2011

Re: Widgets - WARP, Widgets Updates and Digital Signatures

From: Marcos Caceres <marcosc@opera.com>
Date: Tue, 08 Feb 2011 18:48:32 +0000
Message-ID: <4D519000.6080607@opera.com>
To: Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@w3.org>
CC: nathan@webr3.org, "Nilsson, Claes1" <Claes1.Nilsson@sonyericsson.com>, "Frederick.Hirsch@nokia.com" <Frederick.Hirsch@nokia.com>, "public-device-apis@w3.org" <public-device-apis@w3.org>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>, Peter Dekkers <peter@jbaron.com>, Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, Karl Dubost <karld@opera.com>
Hi Tim,
In [1], it sounds to me like you are after W3C Widgets [2]; we have 
almost finished standardizing them so no need to wait.

You can play with them today in Opera [3] and a bunch of other great 
runtimes [4].

Kind regards,
Marcos

[1] http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-tag/2011Feb/0078.html
[2] http://dev.w3.org/2006/waf/widgets/
[3] http://www.opera.com/download/
[4] http://www.w3.org/2008/webapps/wiki/WidgetImplementation
On 2/8/11 6:37 PM, Nathan wrote:
> Nathan wrote:
>> Marcos Caceres wrote:
>>> On 9/16/10 6:10 PM, Nathan wrote:
>>>> Marcos Caceres wrote:
>>>>> As above. I thought that was what we (Web Apps WG - Widgets) have been
>>>>> doing for the last 5 years?
>>>>
>>>> Maybe I've missed part of the specifications - are you telling me
>>>> that I
>>>> can package up an HTML,CSS,JS based application as per the widgets
>>>> specification, include a WARP, Digital Signature, set the view-mode to
>>>> windowed and that this will run as is, in the main browser context of
>>>> the main browser vendors (Firefox, Safari, Opera, Chrome, IE etc)?
>>>
>>> Ah! ok. I get it now. No, that won't work right now (actually, that's
>>> how we run them in our development environment for testing purposes
>>> :) ). But that is trivial and no one has really asked for that.
>>
>> Good to know, and you can consider me as asking for it!
>>
>>> I'm still a bit lost as to what the use case is?
>
> following up, see "Web Apps -- requirements for installation and
> management" from TimBL:
>
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-tag/2011Feb/0078.html
>
> Best,
>
> Nathan

-- 
Marcos Caceres
Opera Software
Received on Tuesday, 8 February 2011 18:50:18 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:43 GMT