W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2011

Re: [indexeddb] IDBDatabase.setVersion non-nullable parameter has a default for null

From: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Date: Mon, 13 Jun 2011 23:47:46 +1200
Message-ID: <BANLkTimMGKAZ6CoTu+3rmRwWhfnAy-NpOw@mail.gmail.com>
To: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
Cc: Mark Pilgrim <pilgrim@google.com>, Eliot Graff <Eliot.Graff@microsoft.com>, "public-webapps@w3.org" <public-webapps@w3.org>, Israel Hilerio <israelh@microsoft.com>, Jeremy Orlow <jorlow@chromium.org>, Adam Barth <w3c@adambarth.com>
On Mon, Jun 13, 2011 at 6:19 PM, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc> wrote:

> I can't remember getting a single bug filed on Geckos current
> behavior. There probably have been some which I've missed, but it's
> not a big enough problem that it's ever been discussed at mozilla as
> far as I can remember.
>

Actually there was a compatibility problem with one site, and that's what
triggered us to make the third parameter of addEventListener optional:
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=613634

Yes. In fact, unless someone can show that the web depends on the
> currently specced behavior, I don't see a reason to change Gecko.
>

I don't know of any other examples other than that one site, so I wouldn't
say we have evidence that "the Web" depends on the currently specced
behavior. I think we can hold the line unless more compatibility issues
appear.

I think Ojan's request to make more parameters explicitly optional here:
https://bugs.webkit.org/show_bug.cgi?id=21257#c16
is a great idea and we should do that no matter what.

Rob
-- 
"Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for
they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures
every day to see if what Paul said was true." [Acts 17:11]
Received on Monday, 13 June 2011 11:48:14 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:45 GMT