W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2011

Re: What changes to Web Messaging spec are proposed? [Was: Re: Using ArrayBuffer as payload for binary data to/from Web Workers]

From: Glenn Maynard <glenn@zewt.org>
Date: Wed, 8 Jun 2011 21:26:52 -0400
Message-ID: <BANLkTimUakrKMAR31s6Dycx6-vi0N67cWQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
Cc: Kenneth Russell <kbr@google.com>, David Levin <levin@chromium.org>, Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, Andrew Wilson <atwilson@google.com>, Dmitry Lomov <dslomov@google.com>, ben turner <bent.mozilla@gmail.com>, "public-webapps@w3.org" <public-webapps@w3.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Travis Leithead <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>
On Wed, Jun 8, 2011 at 9:14 PM, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc> wrote:
> This all sounds great to me, but I think we should additionally make
> the 'ports' attribute on the MessageEvent interface deprecated.
>
> The only use case for it is to support existing code which doesn't
> pass ports in the object graph but rather only in the array in the
> second argument (i.e. the formerly "ports" argument).
>
> By deprecating it, I mean either:
>
> 1. Mark it, using prose, as deprecated in the specification.
> 2. Remove it from the specification but allow existing implementations
> of it to keep it as long as they feel needed to retain compatibility
> with existing code.

MessageEvent is also used by the onconnect event.

-- 
Glenn Maynard
Received on Thursday, 9 June 2011 01:27:19 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:45 GMT