W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2010

Re: XHR responseArrayBuffer attribute: suggestion to replace "asBlob" with "responseType"

From: Boris Zbarsky <bzbarsky@MIT.EDU>
Date: Tue, 26 Oct 2010 20:43:58 -0400
Message-ID: <4CC775CE.6050509@mit.edu>
To: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>
CC: Chris Rogers <crogers@google.com>, Web Applications Working Group WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, Eric Uhrhane <ericu@google.com>, michaeln@google.com, Darin Fisher <darin@google.com>, Alexey Proskuryakov <ap@webkit.org>, Chris Marrin <cmarrin@apple.com>, Geoffrey Garen <ggaren@apple.com>, jorlow@google.com
On 10/26/10 5:27 AM, Anne van Kesteren wrote:
> Boris, do you see value in the asBlob / responseBlob proposal currently
> in the draft?

The idea there being that you don't have to have the data in memory at 
all unless the page explicitly asks for it, and then giving the page the 
option of only mapping some of the data into memory?

I think that's a good idea, yes.

What I'm not quite sure about is why it needs to be a state flag which 
makes it an open-time all-or-nothing decision, other than implementor 
convenience....

-Boris
Received on Wednesday, 27 October 2010 00:44:41 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:41 GMT