W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2010

Re: XHR responseArrayBuffer attribute: suggestion to replace "asBlob" with "responseType"

From: Alexey Proskuryakov <ap@webkit.org>
Date: Mon, 25 Oct 2010 15:42:23 -0700
Cc: Chris Rogers <crogers@google.com>, Web Applications Working Group WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Eric Uhrhane <ericu@google.com>, michaeln@google.com, Darin Fisher <darin@google.com>, Chris Marrin <cmarrin@apple.com>, Geoffrey Garen <ggaren@apple.com>, jorlow@google.com
Message-id: <9866C706-7FC0-490F-A9D6-94C44020487A@webkit.org>
To: Boris Zbarsky <bzbarsky@MIT.EDU>

25.10.2010, в 15:33, Boris Zbarsky написал(а):

>>  People are concerned that it would require keeping two copies of the
>> data around (raw bytes, and unicode text version) since it's unknown
>> up-front whether "responseText", or "responseArrayBuffer" will be
>> accessed.
> 
> Note that Gecko does exactly that, and we've seen no problems with it...  It's very rare to have really large XHR bodies, for what it's worth.


That may become more common when people start downloading arbitrary files, and storing them to disk with FileWriter. But even years ago, we've been getting performance bugs forcing us to ensure responseText didn't have to be copied for JavaScript access.

- WBR, Alexey Proskuryakov
Received on Monday, 25 October 2010 22:42:56 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:41 GMT