W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2010

Re: [IndexedDB] What happens when the version changes?

From: Nikunj Mehta <nikunj@o-micron.com>
Date: Tue, 18 May 2010 13:02:27 -0700
Cc: Shawn Wilsher <sdwilsh@mozilla.com>, public-webapps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>
Message-Id: <EEDF5A04-7472-4D4B-90E6-6E2383037D1F@o-micron.com>
To: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>

On May 18, 2010, at 12:50 PM, Jonas Sicking wrote:

> On Tue, May 18, 2010 at 12:46 PM, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc> wrote:
>> On Tue, May 18, 2010 at 12:37 PM, Nikunj Mehta <nikunj@o-micron.com> wrote:
>>> If the use case here is to avoid tripping up on schema changes, then:
>>> 
>>> 1. Lock the database when starting a database connection. This is the non-sharing access mode defined in 3.2.9 as the first option under step 2.
>> 
>> Will locking the database prevent others from creating new
>> objectStores? Step 2 only talks about acquiring locks on the existing
>> database objects.
> 
> Also, what happens to already existing database connections? Do you
> have to wait until the user has closed all other tabs which use the
> same database before making the upgrade?

I won't talk about tabs and such. Let's make clarification questions be related to spec text.

A database connection that locks the entire database cannot be opened if there is another database connection that locks at least one database object, e.g., an index or object store.
Received on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 20:03:09 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:38 GMT