W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2010

Re: [IndexedDB] What happens when the version changes?

From: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
Date: Tue, 18 May 2010 12:50:58 -0700
Message-ID: <AANLkTimesyF_RN5UDqJhBs3i9a_3hgFKj0O9ktcqLQgY@mail.gmail.com>
To: Nikunj Mehta <nikunj@o-micron.com>
Cc: Shawn Wilsher <sdwilsh@mozilla.com>, public-webapps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>
On Tue, May 18, 2010 at 12:46 PM, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc> wrote:
> On Tue, May 18, 2010 at 12:37 PM, Nikunj Mehta <nikunj@o-micron.com> wrote:
>> If the use case here is to avoid tripping up on schema changes, then:
>>
>> 1. Lock the database when starting a database connection. This is the non-sharing access mode defined in 3.2.9 as the first option under step 2.
>
> Will locking the database prevent others from creating new
> objectStores? Step 2 only talks about acquiring locks on the existing
> database objects.

Also, what happens to already existing database connections? Do you
have to wait until the user has closed all other tabs which use the
same database before making the upgrade?

/ Jonas
Received on Tuesday, 18 May 2010 19:51:56 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:38 GMT