W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > October to December 2009

Re: Proposed additional topic for joint DAP/WebApps Widgets F2F session

From: Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>
Date: Thu, 29 Oct 2009 17:52:51 +0100
To: "David Rogers" <david.rogers@omtp.org>, "Arthur Barstow" <art.barstow@nokia.com>
Cc: "Hirsch Frederick (Nokia-CIC/Boston)" <Frederick.Hirsch@nokia.com>, "public-Webapps@w3.org WG" <public-webapps@w3.org>, "W3C Device APIs and Policy WG" <public-device-apis@w3.org>, "Robin Berjon" <robin@robineko.com>, "Nick Allott" <nick.allott@omtp.org>
Message-ID: <op.u2kmidojwxe0ny@widsith.eng.oslo.osa>
On Thu, 29 Oct 2009 17:18:31 +0100, David Rogers <david.rogers@omtp.org>  
wrote:

> LOL, I wasn't expecting me to do the legwork for you all :-) One example
> would be FileSystem in DAP and the File API in webapps. How do these two
> fit together? I only saw an email on thoughts/assumptions about this
> recently. To the outside observer, it is not easy to see what the
> differences are and how this all fits together. We need to have a clear
> view (on one sheet of paper) about where these overlaps are and what the
> plan is for dealing with them. I was assuming that the chairs are best
> placed to do put the starting input in for this.

That's the major centrepiece of why we have a joint APIs/DAP meeting  
planned :)

cheers

Chaals

> Thanks,
>
>
> David.
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Arthur Barstow [mailto:art.barstow@nokia.com]
> Sent: 29 October 2009 16:04
> To: David Rogers
> Cc: Hirsch Frederick (Nokia-CIC/Boston); public-Webapps@w3.org WG;
> Charles McCathieNevile; W3C Device APIs and Policy WG; Robin Berjon;
> Nick Allott
> Subject: Re: Proposed additional topic for joint DAP/WebApps Widgets F2F
> session
>
> On Oct 29, 2009, at 11:54 AM, ext David Rogers wrote:
>
>> As discussed on the webapps call, in addition to Fredrick's proposal I
>> think we need to understand the relationship between DAP / Widgets /
>> WebApps / HTML5 more clearly. There are overlaps and architectural
>> disparities which we should highlight and come up with a plan for
>> dealing with.
>
> Please elaborate on the overlaps and architectural disparities.
>
> -Regards, Art Barstow
>
>
>
>


-- 
Charles McCathieNevile  Opera Software, Standards Group
     je parle français -- hablo español -- jeg lærer norsk
http://my.opera.com/chaals       Try Opera: http://www.opera.com
Received on Thursday, 29 October 2009 16:53:37 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:49:34 GMT