W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapi@w3.org > May 2008

Re: Seeking XDR versus AC4CSR+XHR2 follow-ups by Microsoft [Was: Re: IE Team's Proposal for Cross Site Requests]

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Fri, 2 May 2008 23:18:40 +0000 (UTC)
To: Sunava Dutta <sunavad@windows.microsoft.com>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>
Cc: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, Eric Lawrence <ericlaw@exchange.microsoft.com>, ext Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, "Web API WG (public)" <public-webapi@w3.org>, "public-appformats@w3.org" <public-appformats@w3.org>, Zhenbin Xu <zhenbinx@windows.microsoft.com>, Gideon Cohn <gidco@windows.microsoft.com>, Sharath Udupa <Sharath.Udupa@microsoft.com>, Marc Silbey <marcsil@windows.microsoft.com>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.62.0805022313250.2099@hixie.dreamhostps.com>

On Fri, 2 May 2008, Jonas Sicking wrote:
> Sunava Dutta wrote:
> > I apologize for the delay but we're currently coming up with a plan 
> > moving forward to regarding how we want to proceed with cross domain. 
> > Our timeframe for responses to the questions below is tied to that 
> > plan.
> 
> I'm not quite sure I understand why the answers to technical questions 
> about the security model is affected by strategic decisions about how to 
> move forward. I would have expected the dependency to go the other way 
> around.

Yeah, I'm confused as to why Microsoft's technical comments on one 
specification are being held hostage to Microsoft's overall strategy. 

Surely the technical comments are valid independent of your strategy, and 
providing them would improve the Web, which I'm assuming is what you want.

After all, you said you had these comments available last November, at the 
Boston meeting, and would send them by mid-December!

This does not give a good impression of your commitment to standards.

-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Friday, 2 May 2008 23:19:25 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 2 May 2008 23:19:26 GMT