W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapi@w3.org > March 2008

Re: IE Team's Proposal for Cross Site Requests

From: Laurens Holst <lholst@students.cs.uu.nl>
Date: Fri, 14 Mar 2008 11:18:44 +0100
Message-ID: <47DA5104.4000909@students.cs.uu.nl>
To: Sunava Dutta <sunavad@windows.microsoft.com>
CC: "Web API WG (public)" <public-webapi@w3.org>, "public-appformats@w3.org" <public-appformats@w3.org>, Eric Lawrence <ericlaw@exchange.microsoft.com>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, Zhenbin Xu <zhenbinx@windows.microsoft.com>, Gideon Cohn <gidco@windows.microsoft.com>, Sharath Udupa <Sharath.Udupa@microsoft.com>, Doug Stamper <dstamper@exchange.microsoft.com>, Marc Silbey <marcsil@windows.microsoft.com>
So, if I cannot set HTTP headers, how am I supposed to set an Accept 
header to indicate that I e.g. want to receive application/xhtml+xml, 
application/atom+xml, application/*rss*+xml, application/rdf+xml, etc.? 
Your proposal is completely unfriendly to content negotiation. Also, 
there are valid use cases for setting other headers.

I sincerely hope you will fix this issue by creating a blacklist of 
headers instead of disallowing them entirely.

~Grauw

-- 
Ushiko-san! Kimi wa doushite, Ushiko-san nan da!!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Laurens Holst, student, university of Utrecht, the Netherlands.
Website: www.grauw.nl. Backbase employee; www.backbase.com.




Received on Friday, 14 March 2008 10:19:48 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 14 March 2008 10:19:48 GMT