W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-web-security@w3.org > May 2019

Requesting Horizontal Review: APA's Updated CAPTCHA Note Draft

From: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Date: Tue, 14 May 2019 15:13:45 -0400
To: public-privacy@w3.org, public-web-security@w3.org, Sam Weiler <weiler@w3.org>, Tara Whalen <tjwhalen@google.com>, www-international@w3.org, Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, Addison Phillips <addison@amazon.com>, Wendy Seltzer <wseltzer@w3.org>
Cc: W3C WAI Accessible Platform Architectures <public-apa@w3.org>, public-rqtf@w3.org, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>
Message-ID: <20190514191345.GD4237@rednote.net>
Dear W3C Colleagues:

Over many recent months APA has been working to update a 2005 W3C Note
on: "Inaccessibility of CAPTCHA." We published a FPWD of an updated
draft in 2018, and a public wide review draft early in 2019. We received
significant public comment on the wide review draft and are now
preparing to publish a second wide review draft hopefully at the end of
May.

We'd like to think we're close to completing this update, but we need
your help determining whether our current draft is in fact nearing
completion.

While our subject is accessibility, we have found it impossible to
discuss accessibility without also referencing security, privacy and
internationalization concerns. That's why we would particularly welcome
your comments on our current draft here:

https://w3c.github.io/apa/captcha/

We expect there are still editorial issues with this draft, but we
believe we've addressed all substantive concerns of which we're aware.

Our question to you: Have we fairly represented the state of CAPTCHA
today? If not, what have we missed or mischaracterized?

Thanking you in advance for your assistance on this document,

Janina Sajka,
APA Chair


-- 

Janina Sajka

Linux Foundation Fellow
Executive Chair, Accessibility Workgroup:	http://a11y.org

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
Chair, Accessible Platform Architectures	http://www.w3.org/wai/apa
Received on Tuesday, 14 May 2019 19:14:22 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 14 May 2019 19:14:23 UTC