W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-web-security@w3.org > February 2015

Re: [W3C Web Crypto WG] Rechartering discussion - Gemalto contribution

From: Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>
Date: Tue, 03 Feb 2015 11:36:31 +0100
To: public-web-security@w3.org
Cc: Siva Narendra <siva@tyfone.com>, Ryan Sleevi <sleevi@google.com>, Harry Halpin <hhalpin@w3.org>, Anders Rundgren <anders.rundgren.net@gmail.com>, Brad Hill <hillbrad@fb.com>, GALINDO Virginie <Virginie.Galindo@gemalto.com>, Lu HongQian Karen <karen.lu@gemalto.com>, Wendy Seltzer <wseltzer@w3.org>, "public-webcrypto-comments@w3.org" <public-webcrypto-comments@w3.org>, POTONNIEE Olivier <Olivier.Potonniee@gemalto.com>, "PHoyer@hidglobal.com" <PHoyer@hidglobal.com>
Message-ID: <2173556.YWdil7b7Gs@hegel>
On Monday 02 February 2015 14:23:42 Siva Narendra wrote:
>    - A generic framework that supports FIDO, Tokenization, Derived
>    Credential (and perhaps others yet to be invented) equally.
>    There has been years of work that has gone into these standards just as
>    much as FIDO.
>    If a legacy system could use the generic framework, so be it

Just a question, how would the webcrypto system connect to systems like the 
German passport with its eID functions? Would they have to conform to FIDO to 
be able to connect into the browser?

 --Rigo
Received on Tuesday, 3 February 2015 10:36:47 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 3 February 2015 10:36:48 UTC