W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-web-and-tv@w3.org > October 2017

IMSC1.1 First Public Working Draft for review.

From: Thierry MICHEL <tmichel@w3.org>
Date: Tue, 17 Oct 2017 09:09:26 +0200
To: www-style@w3.org, Bert Bos <bert@w3.org>, 'Chris Lilley' <chris@w3.org>, Alan Stearns <stearns@adobe.com>, "Rossen Atanassov," <Rossen.Atanassov@microsoft.com>, Kazuyuki Ashimura <ashimura@w3.org>, Daniel Davis <ddavis@w3.org>, Yosuke Funahashi <yosuke@w3.org>, mark_vickers@comcast.com, public-web-and-tv@w3.org, lwatson@paciellogroup.com, "Yves Lafon," <ylafon@w3.org>, adrianba@microsoft.com, xiaoqian@w3.org, public-webapps@w3.org, "public-texttracks@w3.org" <public-texttracks@w3.org>, "David Singer," <singer@apple.com>, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, group-apa-chairs@w3.org, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, public-apa@w3.org, "Phillips, Addison" <addison@lab126.com>, www-international@w3.org, Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, public-privacy@w3.org, public-web-security@w3.org
Cc: W3C Public TTWG <public-tt@w3.org>
Message-ID: <3beaca8c-fca9-9d2c-fc79-b0c7f5d26a44@w3.org>

Dear,

Accessible Platform Architectures,
Web Platform Working Group,
Web and TV Interest Group,
CSS Working Group,
I18N,
Privacy Interest Group,
Web Security Interest,
TextTrack CG.

The W3C Timed Text Working Group has recently published a First Public
Working Draft of the TTML Text and Image Profiles for Internet Media
Subtitles and Captions 1.1, known as IMSC 1.1 [1].

This specification improves on IMSC 1.0.1 [2] by adding support for
essential contemporary practices introduced in TTML2, while retaining
the scope of IMSC 1.0.1 and compatibility with IMSC 1.0.1 documents.

For example, improved support for the following practices is provided:
- Japanese subtitles
- high-dynamic range presentations
- stereoscopic presentations
The TTWG invites you to submit comments at public-tt@w3.org with [imsc1.1]
at the start of your email's subject.
These comments will help shape the development of IMSC1.1. If
substantive changes are requested, you are encouraged to submit use
cases and requirements. The TTWG maintains a requirements document at
[3].

TTWG looks forward to working with you on IMSC 1.1.

Sincerely,

Nigel Megitt, co-Chair, W3C Timed Text Working Group


[1] https://www.w3.org/TR/2017/WD-ttml-imsc1.1-20171017/
[2] https://www.w3.org/TR/ttml-imsc1.0.1/
[3] https://w3c.github.io/imsc-vnext-reqs/
Received on Tuesday, 17 October 2017 07:10:04 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 17 October 2017 07:10:04 UTC