W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-wai-rd@w3.org > March 2012

Re: [urgent] input from WAI Coordination Group on mobile accessibility pre-cal

From: <sharper@cs.man.ac.uk>
Date: Fri, 9 Mar 2012 19:39:32 -0000 (UTC)
Message-ID: <49100d4cc1354b46cd2823ab85bc2ff9.squirrel@webmail.cs.man.ac.uk>
To: "Yeliz Yesilada" <yyeliz@metu.edu.tr>
Cc: "Markel Vigo" <markel.vigo@manchester.ac.uk>, "Joshue O Connor" <joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie>, "Shadi Abou-Zahra" <shadi@w3.org>, sharper@cs.man.ac.uk, "Peter Thiessen" <thiessenp@gmail.com>, "Simon Harper" <simon.harper@manchester.ac.uk>, "RDWG" <public-wai-rd@w3.org>
All,

OK so it seems we are at an impass to some extent.

Shadi, are the CG comments (suggestions) mandatory if we wish to proceed,
or are they advisory?

We resolved the langage to us as a group at our meeting - and it is the
same language as is on the previous release.

I wonder if we can relases as the group agreed and then come to a wider
discussion of these topics in time for Topic 3?

Cheers

>
> On 9 Mar 2012, at 17:16, Markel Vigo wrote:
>
>> Why not use "end users" instead of "people with disabilities"? If
>> accessibility is a broader concept that also targets situational
>> impairments, I believe that "end users" would be a more encompassing
>> term.
>
> I am not sure about this. If people just start to talk about their
> experiences, the webinar will have a different focus. I though the overall
> idea is presenting "research" results. Therefore, there could be papers
> that talk about user studies where users are disabled web users. However,
> I do not see how end users or people with disabilities will directly write
> a short abstract to present their experiences. To me that is something
> completely different. There can be webinars that end users get together to
> discuss their experiences but that is not a *research* webinar :-s
>
> I strongly support all Simon's remarks. Especially this one "Adding
> 'people with disabilities,' is just plain wrong....it suggests we think
> people with disabilities occur in a set by themselves and not as part of
> the R&D community - this is wrong and discriminatory!"
>
> Regards,
> Yeliz Yesilada.
Received on Friday, 9 March 2012 20:19:39 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 9 March 2012 20:19:40 GMT