W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-wai-rd@w3.org > February 2004

DRAFT Text Version of announcement

From: Markku Hakkinen <hakkinen@dinf.ne.jp>
Date: Wed, 25 Feb 2004 13:56:32 -0500
To: "Public-Wai-Rd" <public-wai-rd@w3.org>
Message-Id: <20040225185630.C03973F440F@dr-nick.w3.org>

DRAFT
Registration open for:
Teleconference on Making Visualizations of Complex Information Accessible
for People with Disabilities
March xx, 2004 - 10:00-11:30 Boston / 14:00-15:30 London / 15:00-16:30 Paris
/ 23:00-00:30 Tokyo

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
Research and Development Interest Group (RDIG) announces that registration
is now open for the first in a series of teleconferences focusing on
research issues in the area of accessibility and Web-related technologies.

Introduction

This teleconference will explore accessibility issues in visualization
technologies from the perspectives of researchers in the field. Presenters
include:

Kent Cullers, SETI Institute (keynote speaker)
Al Gilman, Trace R&D Center,
Mayer Max, Sharkatech Research
Ed Sims, CTO, VCom3d
Lisa Seeman, UBAccess
Dirk Wilhun and Yannick Saillet, IBM Deutschland
Haixia Zhao and Catherine Plaisant, University of Maryland

Additional details are located on the teleconference page [1].

Who should participate

Researchers and practitioners active in any aspect of Visualization
Technologies, Human Computer Interaction, Assistive Technologies, Disability
Studies, Web Accessibility, or related fields; and people with disabilities
with interest or experience in different approaches to accommodating their
requirements for accessible Web-based visualizations.

Event Information
The teleconference will take place on Monday, xx March, 2004, at 10:00 US
Eastern Standard Time (EST), 14:00 London, 15:00 Paris, 23:00 Tokyo. To
determine the time in your location, we recommend TimeAndDate.com.
Duration of the teleconference will be 2 hours. The format of the event is a
series of brief presentations, augmented by Web-based presentation material,
followed by a moderated panel discussion. The event will be captioned in
real-time and the transcription will be streamed live to a Web page.
Internet Relay Chat (IRC) and email will be available to communicate with
people involved in the teleconference. Registration for the teleconference
is required, and is limited to 35 participants. Registration will close on
xx March, 2004.

Questions for discussion may be submitted in advance by email to the chair,
no later than 08:00 am EST on xx March, 2004.\

[1] http://www.w3.org/WAI/RD/2004/03/call-participation-vis.html
Received on Wednesday, 25 February 2004 13:56:34 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 14:18:36 GMT