W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-w3process@w3.org > March 2015

Re: warnings on outdated specs/docs

From: Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
Date: Thu, 26 Mar 2015 08:26:19 +0000
Message-ID: <CA+ri+VnYKHORqsgZ4-byNoKsZyvPPDXvLNwwogsO_tE1ryVC6w@mail.gmail.com>
To: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Cc: Delfí Ramírez <delfin@delfiramirez.info>, Stephen Zilles <szilles@adobe.com>, "Michael Champion (MS OPEN TECH)" <Michael.Champion@microsoft.com>, David Singer <singer@apple.com>, T Guild <ted@w3.org>, Birkir Gunnarsson <birkir.gunnarsson@deque.com>, "public-w3process@w3.org" <public-w3process@w3.org>, "W3C WAI Protocols & Formats" <public-pfwg@w3.org>
On 26 March 2015 at 03:10, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net> wrote:

> But what does that warning say?
>
> I think the message is different depending on the spec, i.e. for WCAG
> 1.0 it says "Look here at WCAG 2.0," and for HTML 4.01 "Look here at
> HTML 5.0"
>
> So, still a spec by spec customized message that takes time to create,
> and would itself go out of date at some point in the future.
>

Suggest if a custom message cannot be applied a generic warning styled to
stand out will be much better than what we have currently, i.e. no
indication.

--

Regards

SteveF
HTML 5.1 <http://www.w3.org/html/wg/drafts/html/master/>
Received on Thursday, 26 March 2015 08:34:43 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 26 March 2015 08:34:44 UTC