W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking@w3.org > June 2012

Re: Identity providers as first parties

From: Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>
Date: Mon, 18 Jun 2012 19:58:39 +0200
To: ifette@google.com
Cc: Jonathan Mayer <jmayer@stanford.edu>, Alan Chapell <achapell@chapellassociates.com>, rob@blaeu.com, Tamir Israel <tisrael@cippic.ca>, Jeffrey Chester <jeff@democraticmedia.org>, "public-tracking@w3.org" <public-tracking@w3.org>, "JC Cannon (Microsoft)" <jccannon@microsoft.com>, Kimon Zorbas <vp@iabeurope.eu>, Shane Wiley <wileys@yahoo-inc.com>, Mike Zaneis <mike@iab.net>
Message-ID: <1456375.EGrl6p3r8s@hegel.sophia.w3.org>
On Monday 18 June 2012 10:50:25 Ian Fette wrote:
> Jonathan, I never suggested sending back dnt 1 and then tracking
> the user, which I think people would infer from "do whatever they
> want". "Do whatever they want" is a gross mischaracterization.

Rathole!

The "do whatever I want" is used from both sides with differing 
semantics that are both ambiguous at best. Either look for clearer 
semantics or new terms. "Compliance" and "do what I want" are 
guaranteed to get you into the wrong discussion IMHO. 

Rigo
Received on Monday, 18 June 2012 17:59:22 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 21 June 2013 10:11:30 UTC