W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking@w3.org > June 2012

Re: Today's call: summary on user agent compliance

From: David Singer <singer@apple.com>
Date: Sat, 09 Jun 2012 18:20:52 -0700
Cc: Tamir Israel <tisrael@cippic.ca>, Shane Wiley <wileys@yahoo-inc.com>, Jeffrey Chester <jeff@democraticmedia.org>, Ninja Marnau <nmarnau@datenschutzzentrum.de>, Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>, Bjoern Hoehrmann <derhoermi@gmx.net>, "public-tracking@w3.org (public-tracking@w3.org)" <public-tracking@w3.org>
Message-id: <07DF24F1-DCA1-4A16-9CD4-2E6C902BD892@apple.com>
To: ifette@google.com

On Jun 8, 2012, at 19:03 , Ian Fette (イアンフェッティ) wrote:

> The point of DNT is to allow a user to express a preference on tracking. The point of DNT is not to solve the EU regulatory debacle, or any other country-specific regulations. If it can be useful in that manner, then great, but I continue to question whether we should allow this working group to get continually railroaded into trying to solve country-specific regulatory problems.
> 

Your language is rather strong, I think.  We long ago agreed to be informed by various practices, legislation, consultative documents, and so on, and therefore discussing them and their relevance, and whether we can match what they want -- no matter what their source -- is perfectly fair discussion. Writing a specification in ignorance of legislation would be foolish, when we have the opportunity to learn something.

David Singer
Multimedia and Software Standards, Apple Inc.
Received on Sunday, 10 June 2012 01:21:22 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 21 June 2013 10:11:30 UTC