W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking-comments@w3.org > August 2015

Re: IAB Comments to the Last Call Working Draft of the Tracking Preference Expression

From: Nick Doty <npdoty@w3.org>
Date: Mon, 10 Aug 2015 17:09:28 -0700
Cc: "public-tracking-comments@w3.org" <public-tracking-comments@w3.org>, Alan Turransky <alan@iab.net>, Scott Cunningham <scott@iab.net>, Alex Propes <alex@iab.net>, Alex Heit <alex.heit@iab.net>, Alison Pepper <alison@iab.net>
Message-Id: <EA823257-4E33-4080-86DD-8902EA42FF20@w3.org>
To: Mike Zaneis <mike@iab.net>
Mr. Zaneis,

Thank you for your detailed comments on the Tracking Preference Expression Last Call Working Draft.

Section 4 of the TPE provides requirements for user agents in ensuring that signals reflect the preference of the user. Additional requirements were suggested during the Last Call process; however, a proposal to include information about DNT-setting party within the DNT signal was rejected by the Working Group. You do not propose any other alternative approach.

See also: TPE Last Call comments, re: validation of user signals (issue-260)
https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-tracking-comments/2015Jun/0008.html

The decision to define tracking in the TPE was previously resolved by the group; you do not provide new information to justify reopening this long-discussed issue.

Your comment that that the TPE may be inconsistent with various regulatory regimes is not supported, nor do you propose changes to address this issue.

The Working Group previously resolved to include support for the exception mechanism as a mandatory element of the TPE.

Please let us know whether these explanations resolve your concerns.

Thanks,
Nick Doty, W3C
(for Tracking Protection Working Group Co-Chairs: Carl, Justin and Matthias)

Received on Tuesday, 11 August 2015 00:09:36 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 11 August 2015 00:09:36 UTC