W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-sweo-ig@w3.org > January 2008

Re: HTTP URIs for real world objects

From: Leo Sauermann <leo.sauermann@dfki.de>
Date: Mon, 21 Jan 2008 00:09:28 +0100
Message-ID: <4793D4A8.1070307@dfki.de>
To: Peter F Brown <peter@pensive.eu>
CC: Peter Ansell <ansell.peter@gmail.com>, Bernard Vatant <bernard.vatant@mondeca.com>, Danny Ayers <danny.ayers@gmail.com>, Reto Bachmann-Gmür <reto@gmuer.ch>, public-sweo-ig@w3.org, semantic-web@w3.org

It was Peter F Brown who said at the right time 17.01.2008 08:04 the 
following words:
> I don't think the issue is as simple as that. You are right about the OASIS spec ....

> to the same real world subject if they carry the same identifier. RDF has no such - pragmatic - mechanism. The reliance on the use of the law of identity doesn't help as it assumes that for any two things, you can only assert that they are identical if the set of their properties are equivalent, ...
owl:inverseFunctionalProperty does define that for RDF (as far as I 
undestood your concern)
and is in best practice for foaf:mbox_sha1sum

best
Leo
Received on Sunday, 20 January 2008 23:10:34 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Sunday, 20 January 2008 23:10:35 GMT