W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-swbp-wg@w3.org > January to March 2004

Re: Tech Plenary: agenda Best Practices

From: Guus Schreiber <schreiber@cs.vu.nl>
Date: Thu, 26 Feb 2004 17:29:42 +0100
Message-ID: <403E1EF6.5030609@cs.vu.nl>
To: Jim Hendler <hendler@cs.umd.edu>, Dan Brickley <danbri@w3.org>, Patrick Stickler <patrick.stickler@nokia.com>, Jeremy Carroll <jjc@hpl.hp.com>, Brian McBride <bwm@hplb.hpl.hp.com>, Dave Beckett <dave.beckett@bristol.ac.uk>, Jos de Roo <jos.deroo@agfa.com>, Liddy Nevile <liddy@motile.net>, Bernard Vatant <bernard.vatant@mondeca.com>, Mike Uschold <michael.f.uschold@boeing.com>, Christopher Welty <welty@us.ibm.com>, Ben Adida <ben@creativecommons.org>, Oscar Corcho <ocorcho@fi.upm.es>, "Ralph R. Swick" <swick@w3.org>
Cc: Aldo Gangemi <gangemi@ip.rm.cnr.it>, Nicola Guarino <guarino@loa-cnr.it>, LEGER Alain FTRD/DMI/REN <alain.leger@francetelecom.com>, Deborah McGuinness <dlm@KSL.Stanford.EDU>, Natasha Noy <noy@smi.stanford.edu>, SWBPD <public-swbp-wg@w3.org>

Dear all,

[short email, as I'm officially on holiday]

Today W3C has announced the new Semantic Web Activity, including the 
Best Practices Working Group, see:

   http://www.w3.org/2003/12/swa/swbpd-charter

The public mailing list is

   public-swbp-wg@w3.org

with an archive at:

   http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-swbp-wg/

Ralph, could you confirm we should be using this mailing list from now on?

Best, Guus



Guus Schreiber wrote:

> Deal colleagues,
> 
> You have registered as participant for the Tech Plenary kick-off meeting 
> of the Semantic Web Best Practices and Deployment Working Group (SWBPD). 
>  Information about the meeting can be found at:
> 
>   http://www.w3.org/2004/03/04-SWBPD
> 
> The agenda will be updated shortly. I've attached the latest update.
> 
> In preparation for this meeting, we would welcome if you could do two 
> things:
> * Check the list of reading material to see if you need to do some 
> background reading
> * Prepare a (very short) "lightning talk" of 5 minutes for the morning 
> session on Thursday. Suggested content: your top-3 priority list for 
> best practices.
> 
> Looking forward to  see you all in Cannes.
> 
> Guus Schreiber
> also on behalf of Ralph Swick
> 
> PS. I will have limited or no connectivity in the period 23-29 Feb, so 
> please contact Ralph in case of urgent matters. I will arrive in Cannes 
> Monday lunch time.
> 
> 
> 
> 
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> 
> 
>       Thursday 4 March
> 
> MORNING SESSION
> 
> 9.00 - 9.15
> Welcoime by Guus Schreiber (chair) and Ralph Swick (team contact)
> 
> 9.15. - 10.00
> Introductory round
> (all partocipants)
> 
> 10.00 - 10.30
> Wht is expected of this Wprking group? Introduction into some relevant 
> W3C process issues (see also the reading material).
> (Ralph Swick)
> 
> 10.30 - 11.00
> Coffee break
> 
> 11.00 - 12.30
> Flash talks by participants? Partcipants are asked to prepare a very 
> short (5 min) talk on their top-three priority list for this BPD Working 
> Group.
> (all)
> 
> 12.30 - 12.45
> Creative Commons use of OWL
> (Ben Adida)
> 
> 12.45 - 14.00
> Lunch break
> 
> AFTERNOON SESSION
> 
> Discussion of the four focus areas described in the charter (see link 
> below).
> 
> Goal: priority list of short-term (6 months) and longer-term WG gaosl.
> 
> 14.00 - 14.45
> Focus 1: Supporting initiatives for publishing ontologies / vocabularies
> 
> 14.45 - 15.30
> Focus 2: FAQs and how-to-do-it guidelines
> 
> 15.30 - 16.00
> Coffee break
> 
> 16.00 - 16.45
> Focus 3: Repository of tools and demo applications
> 
> 16.45 - 17.30
> Focus 4: Links to related techniques
> 
> 
>       Friday 5 March
> 
> MORNING SESSION
> 
> Discussion on short-term task firces:
> 
> 09:00 - 10:30
> RDF-XHTML task force. Includes presentation on GRDDL by Dominique 
> HazaŽl-Massieux / Dan Connolly.
> 
> 10.30 - 11.00
> Coffee break
> 
> 11.00 - 12.30
> 
>     * Possible task force: Porting Thesaurii to the Semantic Web (45 min)
>     * Task force TDB from Thursday afternoon (45 min)
> 
> 12.30 - 14.00
> Lunch break
> 
> AFERNOON SESSION
> 
> 14.00 - 15.00
> Planning session for:
> 
>     * task forces
>     * telecons
>     * next f2f
> 
Received on Thursday, 26 February 2004 11:41:50 EST

This archive was generated by hypermail pre-2.1.9 : Thursday, 26 February 2004 11:41:51 EST