W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > March 2013

Re: owl:sameAs - Is it used in a right way?

From: Pat Hayes <phayes@ihmc.us>
Date: Sun, 17 Mar 2013 21:50:43 -0500
Cc: Alan Ruttenberg <alanruttenberg@gmail.com>, Jim McCusker <mccusj@rpi.edu>, Andrea Splendiani <andrea.splendiani@deri.org>, David Booth <david@dbooth.org>, Jeremy J Carroll <jjc@syapse.com>, Umutcan ŞİMŞEK <s.umutcan@gmail.com>, Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>, w3c semweb HCLS <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>
Message-Id: <0707207D-8B6F-4489-8ABE-A06028B9CB47@ihmc.us>
To: Peter Ansell <ansell.peter@gmail.com>

On Mar 17, 2013, at 6:22 PM, Peter Ansell wrote:

> On 18 March 2013 09:14, Alan Ruttenberg <alanruttenberg@gmail.com> wrote:
>> Can someone *please* tell me what a context is??
>> 
>> My null hypothesis is that when someone says "context" they either don't
>> know what they are talking about, or are too lazy to say. Both these cases
>> are deadly for clear communication on the web.
>> 
> 
> One interpretation may be RDF Graphs, see RDF-1.1 drafts for the
> current definition of that [1].

Nope, RDF graphs do not, according to the current (and likely future) specs, define contexts (in any useful sense), because they cannot change the interpretations of IRIs.

Pat

> 
> Peter
> 
> [1] http://www.w3.org/TR/rdf11-concepts/#managing-graphs
> 
> 

------------------------------------------------------------
IHMC                                     (850)434 8903 or (650)494 3973   
40 South Alcaniz St.           (850)202 4416   office
Pensacola                            (850)202 4440   fax
FL 32502                              (850)291 0667   mobile
phayesAT-SIGNihmc.us       http://www.ihmc.us/users/phayes
Received on Monday, 18 March 2013 02:51:10 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 14:53:01 UTC