W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > October 2011

Notes last HCLS Sci Disc call and plan for the next one

From: Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS) <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>
Date: Tue, 4 Oct 2011 22:55:21 +0200
Message-ID: <994C62F4D342094CB0A2A3431B8ED8500A9D6279@ELSAMSEXCP02VA.science.regn.net>
To: "Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS)" <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>, "Tim Clark" <tim.clark@rcn.com>, "HCLS IG" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, <scidiscourse@googlegroups.com>, <samwald@gmx.at>, <gil@isi.edu>
Cc: "Alberto Accomazzi" <aaccomazzi@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Allen, Bradley P (ELS-SDG)" <B.Allen@elsevier.com>, "Sophia Ananiadou" <Sophia.Ananiadou@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philip Bourne" <bourne@sdsc.edu>, "Gully Burns" <gully@usc.edu>, "Daniel, Ronald (ELS-SDG)" <R.Daniel@elsevier.com>, "Rahul Dave" <rahuldave@gmail.com>, "Alf Eaton" <A.Eaton@nature.com>, "Alexander Garcia Castro" <alexgarciac@gmail.com>, "Matthew Gamble" <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, "Yolanda Gil" <gil@isi.edu>, "Alyssa Goodman" <agoodman@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Paul Groth" <pgroth@gmail.com>, "Tudor Groza" <tudor.groza@deri.org>, "Hays, Ellen (ELS-BUR)" <E.Hays@elsevier.com>, "Maryann Martone" <maryann@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "David R Newman" <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, "Scerri, Antony (ELS-CAM)" <A.scerri@elsevier.com>, "Jack Park" <jackpark@gmail.com>, "Silvio Peroni" <speroni@cs.unibo.it>, "Steve Pettifer" <steve.pettifer@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philippe Rocca-Serra" <proccaserra@googlemail.com>, "Cartic Ramakrishnan" <cartic@isi.edu>, "Jodi Schneider" <jodi.schneider@deri.org>, "David Shotton" <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Kaitlin Thaney" <k.thaney@digital-science.com>, "Karin Verspoor" <Karin.Verspoor@ucdenver.edu>, "Lynette Hirschman" <lynette@mitre.org>, "Susanna-Assunta Sansone" <sa.sansone@gmail.com>, "Kees van Bochove" <business@keesvanbochove.nl>, "Katy Wolstencroft" <katy@cs.man.ac.uk>, "Jun Zhao" <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>
Dear all,

I think we never put up notes for last week's meeting, oops! The conclusions were, as far as I can recall:

1 - Re. our old use cases: we will revisit use case 1 (Jodi Schneider/Anita de Waard) and 2 (Tim will ask Tudor Groza's input). Use case 3 has been addressed by ORB and is dropped. 

2 - Re. ISATAB collaboration: this will also be written up as a use case according to the new template (see links below)

3 - Before the next call, all use cases will be circulated in draft and comments invited

4 - Also before the next call, we will all circulate use case ideas we would like to work on. 

In this light, I hereby enclose the draft document Jodi and I have been working on: Use Case 1, but following the new template. 

I would like to solicit collaboration on two other use cases: 

1) Linking patient data to clinical recommendations and then to clinical evidence

2) Mining treatment outcomes as a way to provide an anonymous 'clinical trial' type of data source that can be made freely available and used for drug efficacy/outcome studies. 

If anyone is interested in working on either of these, please drop me a line. 

The proposal is that we discuss all submitted and proposed use cases at the call next week.
All suggestions most welcome!

Best,

- Anita.  

Anita de Waard
Disruptive Technologies Director, Elsevier Labs
http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/
a.dewaard@elsevier.com



-----Original Message-----
From: Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS)
Sent: Mon 9/26/2011 9:15
To: Tim Clark; HCLS IG
Subject: RE: Reminder: HCLS Sci Disc call - ISA-RDF & Use Case Review- Mon 26 Sept 10am-11am EDT / 14:00-15:00 UTC 
 
Dear all,

Further to the first agenda point, use cases, for our call in 42 minutes, I'd like to review:

a) The new HCLS Use Case template which can be found here: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1DRnwXw7xIOLTjZ4TUiDtT80ouSQYfUqM9KWKXVgr60s/edit?hl=en_US 

b) Our current three use cases: http://www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure#Use_Cases

and ask ourselves and each other:

1) Are these use cases still valid, or have they been addressed by our work so far? 
2) If they are valid, how can we get them to be compliant with the new format: can someone take on each use cases?
3) If there's time: brainstorm about other use cases, or otherwise make a plan to gather more use cases before the next meeting. 

Talk in a bit! Best,

- Anita.  

Anita de Waard
Disruptive Technologies Director, Elsevier Labs
http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/
a.dewaard@elsevier.com



-----Original Message-----
From: Tim Clark [mailto:tim.clark@rcn.com]
Sent: Fri 9/23/2011 11:04
To: HCLS IG
Subject: Reminder: HCLS Sci Disc call - ISA-RDF & Use Case Review- Mon 26 Sept 10am-11am EDT / 14:00-15:00 UTC 
 
Colleagues:

This is a reminder for the biweekly HCLS Scientific Discourse concall scheduled for Monday, 26 Sept 10am-11am EDT / 14:00-15:00 UTC.

As discussed in the previous call, we'll be focusing on defined tasks and use cases for the coming year. 

- we will begin a review and update of our use cases

- ISA-RDF will be discussed as a potential shared task for 2011-12 (see underlying ISA-TAB project here:  http://isa-tools.org/  for some background)






Elsevier B.V. Registered Office: Radarweg 29, 1043 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Registration No. 33156677 (The Netherlands)


Received on Tuesday, 4 October 2011 20:56:42 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:01:03 GMT