W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > May 2011

Re: Good news from the EBI Semantic Web Industry Workshop and LODD members

From: Joanne Luciano (gmail) <jluciano@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 24 May 2011 21:13:22 -0400
Cc: M. Scott Marshall <mscottmarshall@gmail.com>, HCLS <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, Michel_Dumontier <Michel_Dumontier@carleton.ca>, Matthias Samwald <samwald@gmx.at>, Oktie Hassanzadeh <oktie@cs.toronto.edu>, Anja Jentzsch <anja@anjeve.de>, Egon Willighagen <egon.willighagen@gmail.com>
Message-Id: <F46363E6-CDB2-4FE2-87A9-63B7D3055095@gmail.com>
To: Andrea Splendiani <andrea.splendiani@bbsrc.ac.uk>
and who were the organizers

and THANKS for the update!

Joanne

On May 24, 2011, at 8:39 PM, Andrea Splendiani wrote:

> Hi, 
> 
> just curious. How many attendees where at the workshop ?
> 
> ciao,
> Andrea
> 
> Il giorno 24/mag/2011, alle ore 23.56, M. Scott Marshall ha scritto:
> 
>> Last week, Michel Dumontier, Matthias Samwald and I were invited to
>> speak at the EBI Semantic Web Industry Workshop. We each gave some
>> HCLS perspectives and heard many other very interesting talks from
>> industry representatives. Phil Brooks (Johnson & Johnson) gave an
>> excellent tutorial. TopBraid Composer was widely touted. A few
>> encouraging news items: Nicolas Le Novere told us that MIRIAM
>> identifiers will go to URIs (from URNs) and Jerven Bolleman told us
>> that Uniprot is getting a SPARQL endpoint for their RDF. There was a
>> strong pharma presence at the workshop.
>> 
>> Also, on the LODD front:
>> 
>> * Oktie Hassanzadeh has created a linkedct (linked version of
>> clinicaltrials.gov) that is updated nightly
>> * Anja Jentzsch is working on an update of several Berlin-hosted LODD data sets
>> * Egon Willighagen is updating the downloadable RDF version of ChEMBL
>> to version 9
>> 
>> Cheers,
>> Scott
>> 
>> -- 
>> M. Scott Marshall, W3C HCLS IG co-chair, http://www.w3.org/blog/hcls
>> http://staff.science.uva.nl/~marshall
>> 
> 
> Andrea Splendiani
> Senior Bioinformatics Scientist
> Centre for Mathematical and Computational Biology
> +44(0)1582 763133 ext 2004
> andrea.splendiani@bbsrc.ac.uk
> 
> 
> 
> 
Received on Wednesday, 25 May 2011 01:13:54 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:01:01 GMT