W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > May 2011

HCLS Scientific Discourse Call Monday, May 2nd, 10 am EST - the real invite

From: Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS) <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>
Date: Mon, 2 May 2011 14:41:09 +0200
Message-ID: <994C62F4D342094CB0A2A3431B8ED8500A9D5BBF@ELSAMSEXCP02VA.science.regn.net>
To: "Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS)" <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>
Cc: "Alexander Garcia Castro" <alexgarciac@gmail.com>, "Jodi Schneider" <jodi.schneider@deri.org>, "barend mons" <barend.mons@nbic.nl>, "M. Scott Marshall" <mscottmarshall@gmail.com>, "Tim Clark" <tim_clark@harvard.edu>, "HCLS IG" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, "Alberto Accomazzi" <aaccomazzi@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Sophia Ananiadou" <Sophia.Ananiadou@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philip Bourne" <bourne@sdsc.edu>, "Gully Burns" <gully@usc.edu>, "Daniel, Ronald (ELS-SDG)" <R.Daniel@elsevier.com>, "Rahul Dave" <rahuldave@gmail.com>, "Alf Eaton" <A.Eaton@nature.com>, "Matthew Gamble" <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, "Yolanda Gil" <gil@isi.edu>, "Alyssa Goodman" <agoodman@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Paul Groth" <pgroth@gmail.com>, "Tudor Groza" <tudor.groza@deri.org>, "Hays, Ellen (ELS-BUR)" <E.Hays@elsevier.com>, "Maryann Martone" <maryann@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "David R Newman" <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, "Scerri, Antony (ELS-CAM)" <A.scerri@elsevier.com>, "Jack Park" <jackpark@gmail.com>, "Silvio Peroni" <speroni@cs.unibo.it>, "Steve Pettifer" <steve.pettifer@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philippe Rocca-Serra" <proccaserra@googlemail.com>, "Cartic Ramakrishnan" <cartic@isi.edu>, "RebholzSchuhmann" <d.rebholz.schuhmann@gmail.com>, "David Shotton" <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Kaitlin Thaney" <k.thaney@digital-science.com>, "Karin Verspoor" <Karin.Verspoor@ucdenver.edu>, "Lynette Hirschman" <lynette@mitre.org>, "Susanna-Assunta Sansone" <sa.sansone@gmail.com>, "Kees van Bochove" <business@keesvanbochove.nl>, "Katy Wolstencroft" <katy@cs.man.ac.uk>, "Jun Zhao" <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Paul Groth" <pgroth@few.vu.nl>
Apologies for my confusing mail this weekend: obviously I'm not quite ready to send real emails from my iPhone! The goal was to discuss our conclusions from the April 18th meeting, which I copied below, and look back on our use cases and the work from other HCLS subgroups.

Please find an improved version below or at //www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/meetings/20110502. 

Best, 

- Anita.  

Anita de Waard
Disruptive Technologies Director, Elsevier Labs
http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/
a.dewaard@elsevier.com

http://www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/meetings/20110502 

Please join the HCLS Scientific Discourse concall on Monday, May 2 10 am EST, 3 pm BST, 7 am Pacific

Agenda:

1) Timeframe and names for plans below
2) How close are we to fulfilling our original use cases? (http://www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/)
3) Overlap with other HCLS subgroups (see http://www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG for a listing)
4) Next steps.

Conclusions meeting April 18:

1) Joint work on annotation a corpus of documents with links to workflow components and data. This will allow a concrete instantiation of the medium-grained ontology, and offer a discussion point for describing the experiment/paper link which we are approaching from many different sides. Alex Garcia will jumpstart this process by making a collection of full-text Elsevier documents available which he has annotated with RDF; after seeing these, we will select a subcorpus to mark up a) Data b) Experimental model c) Key discourse components from, and work to make a demonstrator.

2) A paper. Discussing our various models, and ways to integrate; include discussion re. overlap/difference between (explicit, personal) knowledge in discourse and (implicit, shared) knowledge that underlies experimental models. Could be possible outcome of demo.

3) A face-to-face meeting. Kees van Bochove has kindly agreed to organise this. Possible venues: ISMB in Vienna, ICBO in Buffalo, or a one-off workshop in the Netherlands. Topic: Experiment/discourse integration: models, examples, and next steps. 


Dial-in & IRC Information

    * Dial-In #: +1.617.761.6200 (Cambridge, MA)
    * Dial-In #: +33.4.26.46.79.03 (Paris, France)
    * Dial-In #: +44.203.318.0479 (London, UK)
    * Participant Access Code: 42572 ("HCLS2")
    * IRC Channel: irc.w3.org port 6665 channel #HCLS2 use IRC direct link or (see W3C IRC page for details, or see Web IRC)
    * Mibbit quick start: Click on mibbit for instant IRC access
    * Duration: 1hr 
Elsevier B.V. Registered Office: Radarweg 29, 1043 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Registration No. 33156677 (The Netherlands)

Received on Monday, 2 May 2011 12:42:29 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:01:01 GMT