W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > February 2011

Notes HCLS Scientific Discourse Call Mon 31 Jan 2011

From: Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS) <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>
Date: Tue, 1 Feb 2011 13:05:42 +0100
Message-ID: <994C62F4D342094CB0A2A3431B8ED85009199BD7@ELSAMSEXCP02VA.science.regn.net>
To: "Tim Clark" <tim_clark@harvard.edu>, "HCLS IG" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>
Cc: "Alberto Accomazzi" <aaccomazzi@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Sophia Ananiadou" <Sophia.Ananiadou@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philip Bourne" <bourne@sdsc.edu>, "Gully Burns" <gully@usc.edu>, "Daniel, Ronald (ELS-SDG)" <R.Daniel@elsevier.com>, "Rahul Dave" <rahuldave@gmail.com>, "Alf Eaton" <A.Eaton@nature.com>, "Alexander Garcia Castro" <alexgarciac@gmail.com>, "Matthew Gamble" <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, "Yolanda Gil" <gil@isi.edu>, "Alyssa Goodman" <agoodman@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Paul Groth" <pgroth@gmail.com>, "Tudor Groza" <tudor.groza@deri.org>, "Hays, Ellen (ELS-BUR)" <E.Hays@elsevier.com>, "Maryann Martone" <maryann@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "David R Newman" <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, "Scerri, Antony (ELS-CAM)" <A.scerri@elsevier.com>, "Jack Park" <jackpark@gmail.com>, "Silvio Peroni" <speroni@cs.unibo.it>, "Steve Pettifer" <steve.pettifer@manchester.ac.uk>, "Philippe Rocca-Serra" <proccaserra@googlemail.com>, "Cartic Ramakrishnan" <cartic@isi.edu>, "RebholzSchuhmann" <d.rebholz.schuhmann@gmail.com>, "Jodi Schneider" <jodi.schneider@deri.org>, "David Shotton" <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Kaitlin Thaney" <k.thaney@digital-science.com>, "Karin Verspoor" <Karin.Verspoor@ucdenver.edu>, "Lynette Hirschman" <lynette@mitre.org>, "Susanna-Assunta Sansone" <sa.sansone@gmail.com>, "Kees van Bochove" <business@keesvanbochove.nl>, "Katy Wolstencroft" <katy@cs.man.ac.uk>, "Jun Zhao" <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>
Dear all, 

Thanks for a great call yesterday! The (draft) notes of our meeting are now posted here http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Meetings/2011-01-31_Conference_Call#Notes; and copied below; comments and additions are most appreciated. The NLM corpus for conversion into ORB format can be found here: http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/XML/CorpusNLM.zip (once again, the W3C wiki flummoxed me :-)!). 

Notes

    * 1) ORB note is almost done, expected to be finalized in a week (thank you Tudor and Paolo!)
    * 2) As an appendix, we will model 3 docs for ORB: these are now posted here
    * 3) Discussion between Gully/Sudeshna/Jodi will commence about medium-grained model and KEfED; also taking levels of modeling into account discussed in the DoCo/ORB document. 

Points from meeting on 1/24/11:

    * 4) Joanne to present on BEL, "Biological Expression Language", data tbd
    * 5) Scott to present on nanopublications, current status, future plans, overlap with this work, date tbd

Any chance either of these presentations might take place next week, Scott or Joanne? 

Thanks, 

Best,

Anita


Anita de Waard
Disruptive Technologies Director, Elsevier Labs
http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/
a.dewaard@elsevier.com



-----Original Message-----
From: Tim Clark [mailto:tim_clark@harvard.edu]
Sent: Sun 1/30/2011 10:56
To: HCLS IG
Cc: Alberto Accomazzi; Sophia Ananiadou; Philip Bourne; Gully Burns; Daniel, Ronald (ELS-SDG); Rahul Dave; Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS); Alf Eaton; Alexander Garcia Castro; Matthew Gamble; Yolanda Gil; Alyssa Goodman; Paul Groth; Tudor Groza; Hays, Ellen (ELS-BUR); Maryann Martone; David R Newman; Scerri, Antony (ELS-CAM); Jack Park; Silvio Peroni; Steve Pettifer; Philippe Rocca-Serra; Cartic Ramakrishnan; RebholzSchuhmann; Jodi Schneider; David Shotton; Kaitlin Thaney; Karin Verspoor; Lynette Hirschman; Susanna-Assunta Sansone; Kees van Bochove; Katy Wolstencroft; Jun Zhao
Subject: HCLS Scientific Discourse Call Mon 31 Jan 2011
 
http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Meetings/2011-01-31_Conference_Call


Agenda

*	Time: 15:00 GMT / 10am EST / 7am PST
*	Chair: Anita de Waard
*	Topics: Rhetorical Document Model(s) Status and Tasks

	*	ORB specification (Paolo & Tudor) 

		*	http://www.w3.org/2001/sw/hcls/notes/orb/

		*	Mid-grain structure & DExI: data, experiments, interpretations (Jodi and Sudeshna)
		*	BtPDF Research Objects discussion (Gully)

		*	https://sites.google.com/site/beyondthepdf/

*	AOB


Dial-in & IRC Information 


*	Dial-In #: +1.617.761.6200 (Cambridge, MA)
*	Dial-In #: +33.4.26.46.79.03 (Paris, France) 
*	Dial-In #: +44.203.318.0479 (London, UK) 
*	Participant Access Code: 42572 ("HCLS2") 
*	IRC Channel: irc.w3.org <http://irc.w3.org/>  port 6665 channel #HCLS2 use IRC direct link <http://www.mibbit.com/chat/?server=irc.w3.org:6665&channel=%23hcls2>  or (see W3C IRC page <http://www.w3.org/Project/IRC/>  for details, or see Web IRC <http://cgi.w3.org/member-bin/irc/irc.cgi> ) 
*	Mibbit quick start: Click on mibbit for instant IRC access 
*	Duration: 1hr 

*	https://sites.google.com/site/beyondthepdf/







Elsevier B.V. Registered Office: Radarweg 29, 1043 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Registration No. 33156677 (The Netherlands)

Received on Tuesday, 1 February 2011 12:08:15 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:01:00 GMT