W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > April 2011

Re: HCLS Scientific Discourse Call Monday, 11 April 2011 10 am EST, 3 PM BST: talk by Jodi Schneider

From: sas <sa.sansone@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 11 Apr 2011 13:57:57 -0400
Message-ID: <BANLkTikUog0xy1DQmMFTz1e0Gm3d=1nqVA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Alexander Garcia Castro <alexgarciac@gmail.com>
Cc: Jodi Schneider <jodi.schneider@deri.org>, "Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS)" <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>, barend mons <barend.mons@nbic.nl>, "M. Scott Marshall" <mscottmarshall@gmail.com>, Tim Clark <tim_clark@harvard.edu>, HCLS IG <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, Alberto Accomazzi <aaccomazzi@cfa.harvard.edu>, Sophia Ananiadou <Sophia.Ananiadou@manchester.ac.uk>, Philip Bourne <bourne@sdsc.edu>, Gully Burns <gully@usc.edu>, "Daniel, Ronald (ELS-SDG)" <R.Daniel@elsevier.com>, Rahul Dave <rahuldave@gmail.com>, Alf Eaton <A.Eaton@nature.com>, Matthew Gamble <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, Yolanda Gil <gil@isi.edu>, Alyssa Goodman <agoodman@cfa.harvard.edu>, Paul Groth <pgroth@gmail.com>, Tudor Groza <tudor.groza@deri.org>, "Hays, Ellen (ELS-BUR)" <E.Hays@elsevier.com>, Maryann Martone <maryann@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, David R Newman <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, "Scerri, Antony (ELS-CAM)" <A.scerri@elsevier.com>, Jack Park <jackpark@gmail.com>, Silvio Peroni <speroni@cs.unibo.it>, Steve Pettifer <steve.pettifer@manchester.ac.uk>, Philippe Rocca-Serra <proccaserra@googlemail.com>, Cartic Ramakrishnan <cartic@isi.edu>, RebholzSchuhmann <d.rebholz.schuhmann@gmail.com>, David Shotton <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, Kaitlin Thaney <k.thaney@digital-science.com>, Karin Verspoor <Karin.Verspoor@ucdenver.edu>, Lynette Hirschman <lynette@mitre.org>, Kees van Bochove <business@keesvanbochove.nl>, Katy Wolstencroft <katy@cs.man.ac.uk>, Jun Zhao <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, Paul Groth <pgroth@few.vu.nl>
 Hi Alex and all,

> ..experimental information is highly domain specific and there are now
ontologies (OBI)
> and repositories for experimental information as well as efforts
for standardizing
> minimal amounts of information (http://www.mibbi.org/index.php/Main_Page)
...

if you want to look/search for relevant 'standards' see also the BioSharing
catalogue (http://biosharing.org) which now extends the mibbi portal.
Susanna

On 11/04/2011 11:25, Alexander Garcia Castro wrote:

Hi Jodi, nice talk.

 As a general question, shouldn't the description of  experiments be
something to be described by domain specific ontologies? Also, there are
repositories for experiments, e.g  Array express for microarrays; there are
also minimal standards for reporting several experimental
procedures, shouldn't the sections in the document make use of, pointing to,
these resources? if ORB and other document related ontologies go into
describing experimental information I am afraid it may be difficult
to maintain and not very practical to implement.

 fine-graining ORB should, in my opinion, make use of other ontologies for
addressing domain specific issues. for instance, if a researcher wants to go
deeper into materials and methods most likely the information that will
allow him/her to "replicate" the experiment will be living somewhere else in
the web; also, most likely there will be an ontology for specific
experimental procedures, measures, etc involved.

 Once the structure of the document is solved it is easy to use resources
such as bio2rdf to resolve it against existing resources in the web. if not,
then authors can easily point to these external resources -AO can easily
deal with such a use case. my point is, experimental information is highly
domain specific and there are now ontologies (OBI) and repositories for
experimental information as well as efforts
for standardizing minimal amounts of information (
http://www.mibbi.org/index.php/Main_Page) for reporting specific
experimental procedures, shouldn't the fine grained structure of ORB  seek
to make use of these resources?

On Mon, Apr 11, 2011 at 8:09 AM, Jodi Schneider <jodi.schneider@deri.org>wrote:

> Looking forward to talking with you in about an hour.
>
> Here are slides for discussion -- about the overall goal of bridging
> between ORB and the fine-grained ontology with a middle-grained ontology.
>
> The other two PDFs show
> (1) the relationship between ORB and Anita's middle-grained ontology and
> (2) a first attempt to bridge between DExI (top-level) and Anita's
> middle-grained ontology.
>
> -Jodi
>
>
>
>
>
>
>
> On 10 Apr 2011, at 19:38, Waard, Anita de A (ELS-AMS) wrote:
>
> > Dear all,
> >
> > Monday's scientific discourse call will focus on an update of the
> medium-grained ontology alignment by Jodi Schneider: see agenda and call
> details below, or at
> http://www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/meetings/20110411
> >
> > Kind regards,
> >
> > Anita
> > Anita de Waard
> > Disruptive Technologies Director, Elsevier Labs
> > http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/
> > a.dewaard@elsevier.com
> >
> > Meeting April 11, 2011, 10 am EST, 3 pm BST, 4 pm CET
> > [edit] Agenda:
> >
> >    * Jodi Schneider: 'Medium-grained ontology and alignment'
> >    * Status of ontology development
> >    * AOB
> >
> > [edit] Dial-in & IRC Information
> >
> >    * Dial-In #: +1.617.761.6200 (Cambridge, MA)
> >    * Dial-In #: +33.4.26.46.79.03 (Paris, France)
> >    * Dial-In #: +44.203.318.0479 (London, UK)
> >    * Participant Access Code: 42572 ("HCLS2")
> >    * IRC Channel: irc.w3.org port 6665 channel #HCLS2 use IRC direct
> link or (see W3C IRC page for details, or see Web IRC)
> >    * Mibbit quick start: Click on mibbit for instant IRC access
> >    * Duration: 1hr
> > Elsevier B.V. Registered Office: Radarweg 29, 1043 NX Amsterdam, The
> Netherlands, Registration No. 33156677 (The Netherlands)
> >
>
>
>


-- 
Alexander Garcia
http://www.alexandergarcia.name/
http://www.usefilm.com/photographer/75943.html
http://www.linkedin.com/in/alexgarciac
Postal address:
Alexander Garcia, Tel.: +49 421 218 64211
Universitšt Bremen
Enrique-Schmidt-Str. 5
D-28359 Bremen


-- 
Susanna-Assunta Sansone, PhD
Team Leader

Projects: www.isa-tools.org|www.mibbi.org|www.biosharing.org*

University of Oxford		Tel: +44(0)1865 610622
Oxford e-Research Center	Fax: +44(0)1865 610612
7 Keble Road, Oxford		skype: susanna-a.sansone
OX1 3QG, UK			uk.linkedin.com/in/sasansone

~~
*New site launched with catalogues of policies and standards!
Received on Monday, 11 April 2011 17:58:28 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:01:01 GMT