W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > February 2010

Re: When does a document acquire (web) semantics?

From: Danny Ayers <danny.ayers@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 2 Feb 2010 04:33:58 +0100
Message-ID: <1f2ed5cd1002011933q609f8b2fpf98e4954a91614@mail.gmail.com>
To: Joanne Luciano <jluciano@gmail.com>
Cc: Davide Zaccagnini <davide@landcglobal.com>, Peter Ansell <ansell.peter@gmail.com>, Andrea Splendiani <andrea.splendiani@bbsrc.ac.uk>, John Madden <john.madden@duke.edu>, w3c semweb HCLS <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, "Eric Prud'hommeaux" <eric@w3.org>
On 2 February 2010 04:30, Joanne Luciano <jluciano@gmail.com> wrote:
>>> . I suppose what I'm saying is we have to allow for ignorance
>>> in these systems, which is virtually impossible to express, even in
>>> OWL.
>
>
> Ignorance can be expressed in at least 2 ways in OWL... Disclaimer: this is
> off the top of my head and it is late ...
>
> 1, Open world assumption
> 2, Granularity - meaning you only encode to the level you are not ignorant
> about,
>
> Joanne

very good. the killer is the open world.

granularity means hard work for someone.

-- 
http://danny.ayers.name
Received on Tuesday, 2 February 2010 03:34:32 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:00:58 GMT