W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > August 2010

HCLS Scientific Discourse concalls - summer break & brief status report

From: Tim Clark <tim_clark@harvard.edu>
Date: Mon, 2 Aug 2010 00:09:07 -0400
Message-Id: <1A88AE9E-8E98-4996-83AE-471F9A70F65B@harvard.edu>
Cc: Anita de Waard <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>, Sudeshna Das <sudeshna_das@harvard.edu>, Paolo Ciccarese <paolo.ciccarese@gmail.com>, David Shotton <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, Susanna-Assunta Sansone <sansone@ebi.ac.uk>, Carole Goble <carole.goble@manchester.ac.uk>, Gully Burns <gully@usc.edu>, Larry Hunter <Larry.Hunter@ucdenver.edu>, Larisa Soldatova <lss@aber.ac.uk>, James Evans <jevans@uchicago.edu>
To: HCLS IG <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>
Dear HCLS Colleagues

We are suspending the Scientific Discourse calls for the remainder of the summer and will resume at 10am EDT, 15:00 GMT, on Monday, September 13 (after the U.S. "Labor Day" holiday).  

This may seem like a long break and yet there is and has been a lot going on behind the scenes.  

Participants in the Scientific Discourse calls have organized a number of collaborations, some directly through HCLS and some on the side.  
These include the CiTO/SWAN ontology alignment project; the SWAN/myExperiment/ISA-TAB/OBI alignment project; the Annotation Ontology (AO); and the coarse-grained rhetorical document model. 
A paper on the Annotation Ontology (AO) was presented at Bio Ontologies and the AO is documented in great detail at http://code.google.com/p/annotation-ontology/.  New participants and use cases are most welcome.  AO is based on earlier W3C work in the Annotea project and provides a common provenance aware OWL/RDF model for integrating and curating annotation metadata and localizing it to relevant sections of annotated web documents.  
The CiTO/SWAN alignment is essentially complete, a paper is in preparation, and we hope to discuss the results at one of the first SciDisc concalls in September.
We also recently held a very productive F2F workshop overlapping with ISMB, essentially a meetup and talkfest between people working on annotation models and frameworks, and textminers.  
The "Annotation Framework Bonanza" (July 12, 2010) materials are posted on the Sci Discourse wiki, here: http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/meetings/20100712, and we welcome new participants especially text mining groups and other people with new or extended use cases.

Please don't hesitate to email me or any of the subtask leaders with any questions or comments, we are suspending the calls but not the ongoing activities and we are excited about what we will be able to bring forward to the group beginning with the first few calls in September.  

We will post the agenda of the next call well in advance on the wiki, here: http://esw.w3.org/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC

Kind regards and have a happy, safe remainder of the summer.

Tim

Tim Clark
Director of Informatics, MassGeneral Institute for Neurodegenerative Disease
Instructor in Neurology, Harvard Medical School
65 Landsdowne St, 2nd floor
Cambridge MA 02139 USA
Received on Monday, 2 August 2010 04:09:42 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:00:59 GMT