W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > May 2008

FW: Bill Bug Memorial

From: eric neumann <ekneumann@gmail.com>
Date: Thu, 22 May 2008 19:27:43 -0400
Message-ID: <92e86c7d0805221627v49725baeobd8ca9c97a951b5b@mail.gmail.com>
To: "public-semweb-lifesci hcls" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>
I recently was informed of this sad and unexpected news... Bill contributed
to many important efforts including HCLSIG-- we will miss him greatly.

-Eric

Begin forwarded message:



*From: *"Jonathan Nissanov" <jonathan.nissanov@gmail.com>

*Date: *May 22, 2008 6:40:44 AM PDT

*To: *"acenteno@utmem.edu" <acenteno@utmem.edu>, "Al Johnson" <
gaj@orion.duhs.duke.edu>, "Alexandra Badea" <alex@orion.duhs.duke.edu>,
"Arthur Toga" <toga@loni.ucla.edu>, "Asif Memon" <mmemon@sdsc.edu>, "Brad
Vesely" <bvesely@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "Brian Sanders" <bsanders@ncmir.ucsd.edu>,
"Carl Gustafson" <carl.gustafson@drexelmed.edu>, "Daren Lee" <
daren.lee@loni.ucla.edu>, "Davit Janvelyan" <davit.janvelyan@gmail.com>,
"Edriss Merchant" <edriss@caltech.edu>, "grosen@caregroup.harvard.edu" <
grosen@caregroup.harvard.edu>, "Hongqiang Li" <hli7@utmem.edu>, "Illya
Zaslavsk" <zaslavsk@sdsc.edu>, "Jeff Brandenburg" <jeffb@orion.duhs.duke.edu>,
"Jeffrey S. Grethe" <jgrethe@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "Jennifer Santos" <
jsantos@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "Jonathan Nissanov" <
jonathan.nissanov@drexelmed.edu>, "Mark Ellisman" <mark@ncmir.ucsd.edu>,
"Maryanne Martone" <maryann@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "Queenie Ng" <qng@loni.ucla.edu>,
"Rob Williams" <rwilliam@nb.utmem.edu>, "Russell Jacobs" <
rjacobs@caltech.edu>, "Sally Gawalt" <slg@orion.duhs.duke.edu>, "Seth
Ruffins" <seth.ruffins@loni.ucla.edu>, "Steve Anderson" <
sanderso@loni.ucla.edu>, "William Bug (wbug@ncmir.ucsd.edu)" <
wbug@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, "Willie Wong" <wawong@sdsc.edu>, "Zhaohui Sun" <
zsun1@utmem.edu>, "Seth Ruffins" <sruffins@loni.ucla.edu>

*Subject: **Bill Bug Memorial*



Dear Friends:
 Please be aware that in addition to the memorial service, Bill's
family will be receiving visitors ("sitting shiva") at their home at
302 Cornell Avenue in Swarthmore, PA 19081 at the following times.
(The kids are guaranteed to be there at least at shiva time, and Amy
will always be there.)
On Friday, immediately following the memorial service and for the rest
of the day
Sunday, May 25th, shiva services at 10 a.m, receiving visitors
throughout the day
Monday, May 26th, shiva services at 10 a.m., receiving visitors
throughout the day
Tuesday, May 27th, after dinner time, with shiva services in the
evening at 8:30 p.m.

 We are still trying to determine a recipient  for tzedakah/donations
that people might wish to make in loving memory of Bill.  Please stay
tuned for more information about that.

     B'Shalom,
     Amy, Murphy and Moses Bug


It is with deep sadness and an unbearable sense of loss that I must
inform you that my cherished brother, William John Bug, has left this
earth suddenly and unexpectedly.  He resided in Philadelphia and was
47 years old.  Bill Bug was a beloved brother, son, husband, father,
and friend to so many.  He attended the Massachusetts Institute of
Technology and Columbia University and had been working in the field
of neurobiology and ontology at Drexel University and most recently at
the University of California - San Diego.  He will be deeply missed by
all.  I extend to you an invitation to celebrate Bill's life at a
service that will be held this Friday at 10am at Congregation Beth
Israel in Media, PA.  If you cannot attend, please remember Bill in
your thoughts and prayers.

Date/Time:    Friday, May 23rd at 10am
Location:      Congregation Beth Israel, 542 S. New Middletown Rd.,
Media, PA 19063.
Phone:         (610) 566-4645,    Email: info@bethisraelmedia.org
Directions:
http://bethisraelmedia.org/NewSite/NewContactUs.htm#DirectionsRoute1
Google Map: http://tinyurl.com/4slqct

Bill is survived by his wife Amy Bug; his sons, Murphy and Moses Bug;
his brother, Joel Glickman; and mother, Therese Glickman.

I am sorry that I could not speak with you directly, but email was the
most timely means of delivering the message in a timely fashion.
Please help me spread the word by immediately forwarding this email to
anyone in your address book who knows Bill, Amy, and the boys.  Thank
you so much for the good times you may have shared with Bill over the
years.  I know that he highly valued your contributions to his life.

- Joel Glickman
joel@joelglickman.com
(518) 274-0053



-- 
Jonathan (Yoni) Nissanov
Director, Laboratory for Bioimaging and Anatomical Informatics
Director, NeuroEngineering Group
Associate Professor, Dept Neurobiology & Anatomy
Drexel University College of Medicine
2900 Queen Lane
Philadelphia, PA 19129
Tel: 215-991-8410
Fax: 215-843-9367
Received on Thursday, 22 May 2008 23:28:21 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 14:52:36 UTC