W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > October 2007

RE: COI Functional Requirements - ways to implement them

From: Kashyap, Vipul <VKASHYAP1@PARTNERS.ORG>
Date: Mon, 29 Oct 2007 12:42:37 -0400
Message-ID: <DBA3C02EAD0DC14BBB667C345EE2D124010F04F3@PHSXMB20.partners.org>
To: "Dan Corwin" <dan@lexikos.com>
Cc: "public-semweb-lifesci hcls" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, <public-hcls-dse@w3.org>, "Stanley Huff" <Stan.Huff@intermountainmail.org>, "Yan Heras" <Yan.Heras@intermountainmail.org>, "Oniki, Tom (GE Healthcare, consultant)" <Tom.Oniki@ge.com>, "Joey Coyle" <joey@xcoyle.com>, "Landen Bain" <lbain@topsailtech.com>, "Bron W. Kisler" <bkisler@earthlink.net>


Dan,

Thanks for the documents posted by you on the wiki site.

> I've been exploring designs that can implement your spreadsheet
> rows as a web service of "predicates" helpful to achieving this.
> The simplest design [1] just wraps a shell of customized JSPs
> that can make such mappings around any working EMR system.

[VK] Yes, this could be one of the technical tasks that could be proposed. 
I do have issues with "customized JSPs". One of the value points of SW
technologies is to create generalized solutions and not one-off solutions.

> To support patient-matching for any protocol of interest, a user
> must also describe that protocol's goals.  A browser-based web app
> [2] can help input parameters to automate a recurring EMR search,
> which seems to me about what is optimal in practice.
> 
>    [1] see "EMR Wrappers" under BIONTDSEDCM Use Case Scenarios
>    [2] see "Search Agents" under BIONTDSEDCM Use Case Scenarios

[VK] Would the EMR Wrapper essentially be a gateway translating EMR data in a
legacy format to RDF/OWL?

Also, would "search agents" essentially be matching agents?

> I'd like to discuss both in Tuesday's telcon, as proposals for
> the F2F brainstorming session about next steps.  Questions and
> feedback coming first by email from the group would be welcome.

[VK] Will put it on the agenda. Hopefully, we will have time to get to it this
time or next call.

---Vipul


The information transmitted in this electronic communication is intended only for the person or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of or taking of any action in reliance upon this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited. If you received this information in error, please contact the Compliance HelpLine at 800-856-1983 and properly dispose of this information.
Received on Monday, 29 October 2007 16:43:06 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:00:50 GMT