W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > October 2007

RE: Sample protocols and possible strategy

From: Kashyap, Vipul <VKASHYAP1@PARTNERS.ORG>
Date: Mon, 8 Oct 2007 22:19:36 -0400
Message-ID: <DBA3C02EAD0DC14BBB667C345EE2D124010F003B@PHSXMB20.partners.org>
To: "Rachel Richesson" <Rachel.Richesson@epi.usf.edu>, "Dan Corwin" <dan@lexikos.com>
Cc: "public-semweb-lifesci hcls" <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, "Stanley Huff" <Stan.Huff@intermountainmail.org>, "Yan Heras" <Yan.Heras@intermountainmail.org>, "Oniki, Tom (GE Healthcare, consultant)" <Tom.Oniki@ge.com>, "Joey Coyle" <joey@xcoyle.com>, "Landen Bain" <lbain@topsailtech.com>, "Bron W. Kisler" <bkisler@earthlink.net>
Rachel,

 

Thanks for the hard work! I guess the next step is to look at these protocols
and come up with a list of requirements.

 

A demonstration from one standard (clinical research) information model to a
single healthcare information model (Dr. Huff's detailed clinical models, DCM)
could at least demonstrate the value of a standard clinical research information
model and might even facilitate its adoption...

 

[VK] This could be a pragmatic goal for this group in the short term. However,
it's not easy as it sounds.


Either way, I believe that an early task for our group should be to identify
what information model is most likely to represent Protocol Eligibility in a
standardized way. I do not believe that the CDISC's SDTM is the best model, but
I could be wrong. I am fairly certain that *all* the CDISC models will
eventually become harmonized with the BRIDG model
(https://cabig.nci.nih.gov/News_Folder/BRIDG_v1.0_Release/ ) , which is planned
to harmonize w HL7 models as well.  

 

[VK] It may not be easy to "guess" a Protocol Eligibility Information Model. A
methodical way to do it would be draw up a list of functional requirements and
see to what extent each of the models mentioned above satisfy them.

 

So, I wonder if one strategy might be to use the BRIDG as a starting point - map
sample protocols to BRIDG as case exemplars, and then map the appropriate BIRDG
constructs to the DCM models in some general, re-usable way ....

 

[VK] Determining a starting point may not be a bad idea. May make sense to
analyze which of the information models discussed support the requirements
distilled from the use cases.

 

I look forward to talking on this topic tomorrow.  Meanwhile, another
outstanding task for me is to think of definitions/measures of "success" for
this project. If anyone has suggestions, please direct them to me.

 

[VK] One definition of "success" could be that we achieve the pragmatic goal
satisfied above?

 

Cheers,

 

---Vipul



The information transmitted in this electronic communication is intended only for the person or entity to whom it is addressed and may contain confidential and/or privileged material. Any review, retransmission, dissemination or other use of or taking of any action in reliance upon this information by persons or entities other than the intended recipient is prohibited. If you received this information in error, please contact the Compliance HelpLine at 800-856-1983 and properly dispose of this information.
Received on Tuesday, 9 October 2007 02:19:55 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 18:00:50 GMT