W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-rdf-wg@w3.org > April 2011

Re: remembering datatypes - was Re: rdf:PlainLiteral (ISSUE-12)

From: Steve Harris <steve.harris@garlik.com>
Date: Sun, 17 Apr 2011 22:58:27 +0100
Cc: Sandro Hawke <sandro@w3.org>, Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>, Richard Cyganiak <richard@cyganiak.de>, Lee Feigenbaum <lee@thefigtrees.net>, antoine.zimmermann@insa-lyon.fr, public-rdf-wg <public-rdf-wg@w3.org>
Message-Id: <D22EBCE7-FADB-4095-BF3A-A0CD81B67874@garlik.com>
To: nathan@webr3.org
On 2011-04-17, at 19:16, Nathan wrote:

> Steve Harris wrote:
>> On 2011-04-17, at 17:55, Sandro Hawke wrote:
>>> Of course, this is OWL not SPARQL.   I don't see any good way to deal
>>> with this in SPARQL.    I don't really understand how datatype() and
>>> such are supposed to work in SPARQL -- are stores really supposed to
>>> remember which values came in as xs:int vs xs:integer?
>> Yes.
> 
> Out of interest, what practical difference does it make? I'm racking my brains but struggling to think of one, other than perhaps a graph signing / encryption case for ground graphs?

Well, one matches { ?x ?y "3"^^xsd:int } and one doesn't. Both match { ?y ?y ?z . FILTER(?z = 3) }.

- Steve

-- 
Steve Harris, CTO, Garlik Limited
1-3 Halford Road, Richmond, TW10 6AW, UK
+44 20 8439 8203  http://www.garlik.com/
Registered in England and Wales 535 7233 VAT # 849 0517 11
Registered office: Thames House, Portsmouth Road, Esher, Surrey, KT10 9AD
Received on Sunday, 17 April 2011 21:59:04 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 16:25:41 GMT