W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-qt-comments@w3.org > May 2015

[Bug 28589] New: [QT3] format-time-018 with width modifier expects non-shortened outcome

From: <bugzilla@jessica.w3.org>
Date: Fri, 01 May 2015 12:32:48 +0000
To: public-qt-comments@w3.org
Message-ID: <bug-28589-523@http.www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/>
https://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/show_bug.cgi?id=28589

            Bug ID: 28589
           Summary: [QT3] format-time-018 with width modifier expects
                    non-shortened outcome
           Product: XPath / XQuery / XSLT
           Version: Recommendation
          Hardware: PC
                OS: Windows NT
            Status: NEW
          Severity: normal
          Priority: P2
         Component: XQuery 3 & XPath 3 Test Suite
          Assignee: oneil@saxonica.com
          Reporter: abel.braaksma@xs4all.nl
        QA Contact: public-qt-comments@w3.org

This test has the following expression:

string-join(
               for $z in -28 to +28
               return format-time(adjust-time-to-timezone($t,
$z*xs:dayTimeDuration('PT30M')), '[h01][m01][z,2-6]'), '; ')


The width modifier of the timezone is "2-6". The specification uses "should" in
regards to using the width modifier. It also says:

"If no mechanism is available for fitting the value within the specified
maximum width (for example, when roman numerals are used), then the value
should be output in its full representation." 

The expected outcome here starts with:

"0715GMT-14:00; 0745GMT-13:30; 0815GMT-13:00; 0845GMT-12:30"

But "GMT-14:00" has width 9 and there is a valid representation with width 6.
Therefore, I believe that the correct output should be:

"0715GMT-14; 0745GMT-13:30; 0815GMT-13; 0845GMT-12:30"

The halves are not truncated, because it would make the presentation of that
timezone incorrect, so the phrase "should be output in its full representation"
is applied.

Since the spec uses the words "should", I think the shortened timezones are not
a requirement, but they should be the preferred outcome.

The complete expected string value should then be:

"0715GMT-14; 0745GMT-13:30; 0815GMT-13; 0845GMT-12:30; 0915GMT-12;
0945GMT-11:30; 1015GMT-11; 1045GMT-10:30; 1115GMT-10; 1145GMT-09:30;
1215GMT-09; 1245GMT-08:30; 0115GMT-08; 0145GMT-07:30; 0215GMT-07;
0245GMT-06:30; 0315GMT-06; 0345GMT-05:30; 0415GMT-05; 0445GMT-04:30;
0515GMT-04; 0545GMT-03:30; 0615GMT-03; 0645GMT-02:30; 0715GMT-02;
0745GMT-01:30; 0815GMT-01; 0845GMT-00:30; 0915GMT+00; 0945GMT+00:30;
1015GMT+01; 1045GMT+01:30; 1115GMT+02; 1145GMT+02:30; 1215GMT+03;
1245GMT+03:30; 0115GMT+04; 0145GMT+04:30; 0215GMT+05; 0245GMT+05:30;
0315GMT+06; 0345GMT+06:30; 0415GMT+07; 0445GMT+07:30; 0515GMT+08;
0545GMT+08:30; 0615GMT+09; 0645GMT+09:30; 0715GMT+10; 0745GMT+10:30;
0815GMT+11; 0845GMT+11:30; 0915GMT+12; 0945GMT+12:30; 1015GMT+13;
1045GMT+13:30; 1115GMT+14"

-- 
You are receiving this mail because:
You are the QA Contact for the bug.
Received on Friday, 1 May 2015 12:32:50 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 1 May 2015 12:32:50 UTC