W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-privacy@w3.org > October to December 2012

Re: privacy definitions -- was: WebID questions

From: Ashok Malhotra <ashok.malhotra@oracle.com>
Date: Thu, 18 Oct 2012 16:27:30 -0700
Message-ID: <50809062.3020209@oracle.com>
To: Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>
CC: Henry Story <henry.story@bblfish.net>, public-privacy@w3.org, David Singer <singer@apple.com>, Ian.Oliver@nokia.com, melvincarvalho@gmail.com, benl@google.com, public-webid@w3.org
Hi Rigo:
I realize that the Privacy Dashboard is just a prototype but I have a comment.
On one of the websites I visited, I got on the left hand side:

  * 4 Session Cookies
  * 12 Lasting Cookies
  * 2 Internal Third Party Sites
  * 14 External Third party Sites
  * 3 Invisible Images.

If it's my mother, this is Greek to her.  If It's me I want to know, for example,
who the external third party sites are and where the invisible images are.

But the important question is, how do we further the development of this
work.  AFAIK, there is no WG that has this in their bailiwick.

All the best, Ashok

On 10/18/2012 8:03 AM, Rigo Wenning wrote:
> On Thursday 18 October 2012 16:57:23 Henry Story wrote:
>> Is there a document that one can look at that shows the results of
>> this work?
> http://code.w3.org/privacy-dashboard/
> Note that the dashboard has not fully implemented the mockups that
> had been done. The dashboard carries a smiley. But we found out that
> the best would be an non-animated button with footsteps on them. If
> you click on them you would go to the dashboard.
>
> The documents are on
> http://www.primelife.eu/
>
> Rigo
>
Received on Thursday, 18 October 2012 23:28:13 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 18 October 2012 23:28:13 GMT