W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-owl-wg@w3.org > March 2008

unionOf vs. disjointUnionOf in the RDF mapping

From: Michael Schneider <schneid@fzi.de>
Date: Sat, 15 Mar 2008 15:39:12 +0100
Message-ID: <0EF30CAA69519C4CB91D01481AEA06A08032DD@judith.fzi.de>
To: "OWL Working Group WG" <public-owl-wg@w3.org>

The reverse RDF mapping contains the following entry for 'unionOf' in table 6 ("Descriptions"):

    _:x rdf:type owl:Class
    _:x owl:unionOf T(SEQ y1 ... yn)

    ObjectUnionOf( DESC(y1) ... DESC(yn) )

Analogue for 'owl:intersectionOf', 'owl:complementOf', and 'owl:oneOf'.

On the other hand, table 7 ("Axioms") defines the mapping for 'disjointUnionOf' as:

    x owl11:disjointUnionOf T(SEQ y1 ... yn) 	 

    DisjointUnion( DESC(x) DESC(y1) ... DESC(yn) )

I have several questions:

* Why is 'unionOf' in the "descriptions" table and 'disjointUnionOf' in the "axioms" table?

* Why is there an additional typing triple "_:x rdf:type owl:Class" for 'unionOf', but not for 'disjointUnionOf'?

* Why is there a bNode on the left hand side of 'unionOf' (there's none for 'disjointUnionOf')? AFAICS, this notation makes the RDF graph

  G := {
    ex:C rdf:type owl:Class .
    ex:D1 rdf:type owl:Class .
    ex:D2 rdf:type owl:Class . 
    ex:C owl:unionOf ( ex:D1 ex:D2 ) .

unmappable to Functional Syntax, or at least the unionOf triple doesn't get mapped. Note that G is a valid OWL-1.0-DL ontology, so this would break backwards compatibility.

* Why is the Functional-Syntax expression for 'unionOf' called "ObjectUnionOf"? I mean, why the "Object"? (There is no "Object" for 'disjointUnionOf' expressions.)


Dipl.-Inform. Michael Schneider
FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik Karlsruhe
Abtl. Information Process Engineering (IPE)
Tel  : +49-721-9654-726
Fax  : +49-721-9654-727
Email: Michael.Schneider@fzi.de
Web  : http://www.fzi.de/ipe/eng/mitarbeiter.php?id=555

FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik an der Universität Karlsruhe
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 10-14, D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49-721-9654-0, Fax: +49-721-9654-959
Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts
Az: 14-0563.1 Regierungspräsidium Karlsruhe
Vorstand: Rüdiger Dillmann, Michael Flor, Jivka Ovtcharova, Rudi Studer
Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums: Ministerialdirigent Günther Leßnerkraus

Received on Saturday, 15 March 2008 14:39:54 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:42:03 UTC