W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-owl-dev@w3.org > January to March 2011

RE: ANN: SPARQL-DL query engine for the OWL API

From: Michael Schneider <schneid@fzi.de>
Date: Sat, 5 Mar 2011 08:12:01 +0000
To: Holger Knublauch <holger@topquadrant.com>
CC: "public-owl-dev@w3.org" <public-owl-dev@w3.org>
Message-ID: <D951F012D98783438CFE1553243F2D4F01F533@ex-ms-1a.fzi.de>
Holger Knublauch wrote:

>Hi Thorsten (and others),
>have you considered that SPARQL-DL may not be a good name for a
>technology that has an entirely different syntax and semantics from
>SPARQL? When I looked at this, I expected to find a DL-friendly subset
>of SPARQL. But this is not what SPARQL-DL is.
>I believe there is enough confusion on the marketplace already. Why not
>call it something like OWL-QL?

Because there already is an "OWL QL" query language:


... and because there is now also an "OWL 2 QL" ontology language:


Good names are rare and precious. ;-)


>On Mar 3, 2011, at 9:13 PM, Thorsten Liebig wrote:
>> We are happy to announce the initial release of our SPARQL-DL query
>engine that is settled on top of the OWL API. The library is aligned
>with the OWL 2 standard and adds a SPARQL-DL interface to every OWL API
>3 reasoner.
>> Release 1.0.0 and accompanying documentation can be found at:
>> http://www.derivo.de/en/resources/sparql-dl-api/
>> Best,
>> The RDF/OWL team at derivo
>> --
>> Dr. Thorsten Liebig
>> Phone +49 731 502 4207
>> mailto:liebig@derivo.de
>> derivo GmbH <http://www.derivo.de>
>> James-Franck-Ring, 89081 Ulm, Germany
>> Amtsgericht Ulm, HRB 725444
>> CEO: Dr. Thorsten Liebig

Dipl.-Inform. Michael Schneider
Research Scientist, Information Process Engineering (IPE)
Tel  : +49-721-9654-726
Fax  : +49-721-9654-727
Email: michael.schneider@fzi.de
WWW  : http://www.fzi.de/michael.schneider
FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik an der Universität Karlsruhe
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 10-14, D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49-721-9654-0, Fax: +49-721-9654-959
Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts
Stiftung Az: 14-0563.1 Regierungspräsidium Karlsruhe
Vorstand: Dipl. Wi.-Ing. Michael Flor, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Ralf Reussner,
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Wolffried Stucky, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Rudi Studer
Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums: Ministerialdirigent Günther Leßnerkraus
Received on Saturday, 5 March 2011 08:12:36 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 20:58:20 UTC