W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-owl-comments@w3.org > January 2009

LC Comment: "lexical value" vs. "lexical form"

From: Michael Schneider <schneid@fzi.de>
Date: Thu, 8 Jan 2009 23:36:58 +0100
Message-ID: <0EF30CAA69519C4CB91D01481AEA06A0F9812C@judith.fzi.de>
To: <public-owl-comments@w3.org>
Dear OWL WG,

this is a LC comment concerning a deviation in terminology between some of the OWL 2 Last Call working drafts and some of the RDF specification documents and the original OWL specification documents.
In [1a] and [1b], the LC working drafts of the OWL 2 Structural Specification and the OWL 2 Direct Semantics use the term "lexical value" for a member of the lexical space of a datatype.

In [2a] and [2b], the RDF Semantics and the RDF Concepts specification use the term "lexical form" for the same concept, instead, and never use the term "lexical value".

In addition, the original OWL Direct Semantics [3a] uses the term "lexical form" in one place, but never uses the term "lexical value". Also, in the original OWL Abstract Syntax [3b], the term "lexical form" is used as a symbol in the grammar, but the term "lexical value" is never used.

I suggest to rename the term "lexical value" into "lexical form", to be in accordance with the RDF spec and the original OWL spec.


[1a] <http://www.w3.org/2007/OWL/wiki/Specification#Datatype_Maps>
[1b] <http://www.w3.org/2007/OWL/wiki/Semantics#Vocabulary>
[2a] <http://www.w3.org/TR/rdf-mt/#DTYPEINTERP>
[2b] <http://www.w3.org/TR/2004/REC-rdf-concepts-20040210/#section-Graph-Literal>
[3a] <http://www.w3.org/TR/owl-semantics/direct.html#3.1>
[3b] <http://www.w3.org/TR/owl-semantics/syntax.html#2.2>

Dipl.-Inform. Michael Schneider
Research Scientist, Dept. Information Process Engineering (IPE)
Tel  : +49-721-9654-726
Fax  : +49-721-9654-727
Email: schneid@fzi.de
WWW  : http://www.fzi.de/ipe/eng/mitarbeiter.php?id=555


FZI Forschungszentrum Informatik an der Universität Karlsruhe
Haid-und-Neu-Str. 10-14, D-76131 Karlsruhe
Tel.: +49-721-9654-0, Fax: +49-721-9654-959
Stiftung des bürgerlichen Rechts
Stiftung Az: 14-0563.1 Regierungspräsidium Karlsruhe
Vorstand: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Rüdiger Dillmann, Dipl. Wi.-Ing. Michael Flor,
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Wolffried Stucky, Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Rudi Studer
Vorsitzender des Kuratoriums: Ministerialdirigent Günther Leßnerkraus


Received on Thursday, 8 January 2009 22:37:43 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 20:01:29 UTC