W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-lod@w3.org > June 2012

Re: Can we create better links by playing games?

From: Elena Simperl <elena.simperl@aifb.uni-karlsruhe.de>
Date: Wed, 20 Jun 2012 17:49:39 +0200
Message-ID: <4FE1F113.7030903@aifb.uni-karlsruhe.de>
To: Gannon Dick <gannon_dick@yahoo.com>
CC: Melvin Carvalho <melvincarvalho@gmail.com>, Leigh Dodds <leigh@ldodds.com>, Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>, "public-lod@w3.org" <public-lod@w3.org>, Oscar Corcho <ocorcho@fi.upm.es>
Am 20.06.2012 17:10, schrieb Gannon Dick:
> I think the "games" are very helpful for geo classification.  Meta 
> data links are a monte carlo integration.  The further you step back 
> to include more identifiers the less discriminating the identifiers 
> become, and some may be ignored, or replaced with an unlinked generic 
> substitution.  The worldview of a Football Fan and a Government Policy 
> Wonk don't begin the same, but they can end with the same organization.
> http://www.rustprivacy.org/2012/cctld/psp/
>
> I really liked the SmartCities idea.
> --Gannon
There is also work done by UPM in Madrid on validating links between 
geospatial data sets using human computation

http://oegdev.dia.fi.upm.es:8080/sameAs/ (just pick a random user id, 
and a data set).


>
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> *From:* Melvin Carvalho <melvincarvalho@gmail.com>
> *To:* Leigh Dodds <leigh@ldodds.com>
> *Cc:* Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com>; public-lod@w3.org
> *Sent:* Wednesday, June 20, 2012 8:51 AM
> *Subject:* Re: Can we create better links by playing games?
>
>
>
> On 20 June 2012 15:46, Leigh Dodds <leigh@ldodds.com 
> <mailto:leigh@ldodds.com>> wrote:
>
>     On Wed, Jun 20, 2012 at 2:19 PM, Melvin Carvalho
>     <melvincarvalho@gmail.com <mailto:melvincarvalho@gmail.com>> wrote:
>     >
>     >
>     > On 20 June 2012 15:11, Kingsley Idehen <kidehen@openlinksw.com
>     <mailto:kidehen@openlinksw.com>> wrote:
>     >>
>     >> On 6/19/12 3:23 PM, Martin Hepp wrote:
>     >>>
>     >>> [1] Games with a Purpose for the Semantic Web, IEEE
>     Intelligent Systems,
>     >>> Vol. 23, No. 3, pp. 50-60, May/June 2008.
>     >>
>     >>
>     >> Do the games at: http://ontogame.sti2.at/games/, still work?
>     The more data
>     >> quality oriented games the better re. LOD and the Semantic Web
>     in general.
>     >>
>     >> Others: Are there any other games out there?
>     >
>     >
>     > iand is working on a game:
>     >
>     > http://blog.iandavis.com/2012/05/21/wolfie/
>
>     Is that relevant? :)
>
>
> I guess I was reaching a bit there :)
>
> I think it's just a fun project at the moment.  But you never know how 
> things will develop, look at the explosion of minecraft.  Also written 
> by one of the top linked data experts in the world ... so you can only 
> hope! :)
>
> One thing that I think could be really good is if inked geo browser 
> (also aksw) were somehow gamified.
>
>
>     L.
>
>
>
>


-- 
Dr. Elena Simperl
Assistant Professor
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
t: +49 721 608 45778
m: +49 1520 1600994
e: elena.simperl@kit.edu
Received on Wednesday, 20 June 2012 17:50:07 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Sunday, 31 March 2013 14:24:40 UTC