W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-lod@w3.org > October 2010

AW: AW: ANN: LOD Cloud - Statistics and compliance with best practices

From: Chris Bizer <chris@bizer.de>
Date: Fri, 22 Oct 2010 16:49:08 +0200
To: "'Martin Hepp'" <martin.hepp@ebusiness-unibw.org>, "'public-lod'" <public-lod@w3.org>
Cc: "'Juan Sequeda'" <juanfederico@gmail.com>, "'Denny Vrandecic'" <denny.vrandecic@kit.edu>, "'Kingsley Idehen'" <kidehen@openlinksw.com>, "'Semantic Web'" <semantic-web@w3.org>, "'Enrico Motta'" <e.motta@open.ac.uk>, "'Thomas Steiner'" <tsteiner@google.com>, "'Anja Jentzsch'" <anja@anjeve.de>, "'semanticweb'" <semanticweb@yahoogroups.com>, "'Giovanni Tummarello'" <giovanni.tummarello@deri.org>, "'Mathieu d'Aquin'" <m.daquin@open.ac.uk>
Message-ID: <014601cb71f8$47ed8e50$d7c8aaf0$@bizer.de>
Hi Martin,

> The fact that there is obviously a lot of low quality data on the
> current Web should not encourage us to publish masses of low-quality
> data and then celebrate ourselves for having achieved a lot. The
> current Web tolerates buggy markup, broken links, and questionable
> content of all types. But I hope everybody agrees that the Web is
> successful because of this tolerance, not because of the buggy content
> itself. Quite to the contrary, the Web has been broadly adopted
> because of the lots of commonly agreed high-quality contents.

Sure, where is the problem? 

The same holds for the Web of Data: There is a lot of high quality content
and a lot of low quality content.
Which means - as on the classic Web - that the data consumer need to decide
which content it wants to use.

If the Web has proved anything than that having a completely open
architecture is a crucial factor for being able to succeed on global scale. 
The Web of Linked Data also aims at global scale. Thus, I will keep on
betting on open solutions without curation or any other bottle neck. 

> If you continue to live the linked data landfill style it will fall
> back on you, reputation-wise, funding-wise, and career-wise. Some
> rules hold in ecosystems of all kinds and sizes.

Sorry, you are leaving the grounds of scientific discussion here and I will
thus not comment.

Best,

Chris


> Best
> 
> Martin
Received on Friday, 22 October 2010 14:47:16 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Sunday, 31 March 2013 14:24:29 UTC