W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-ietf-w3c@w3.org > August 2010

Re: contact formats -- IETF/OMA/PoCo/W3C convergence?

From: Chris Messina <chris.messina@gmail.com>
Date: Thu, 26 Aug 2010 08:32:48 +0000
Message-ID: <AANLkTimdwf3TOd4j0SZ+JVscTXqk=Kap-XSjeU=zJ=1M@mail.gmail.com>
To: Marc Blanchet <marc.blanchet@viagenie.ca>, Joseph Smarr <jsmarr@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Roessler <tlr@w3.org>, Tantek Celik <tantek@cs.stanford.edu>, Cristina Badulescu <cristina.badulescu@ericsson.com>, Frederick Hirsch <Frederick.Hirsch@nokia.com>, Robin Berjon <robin@robineko.com>, jsmarr@stanfordalumni.org, Cyrus Daboo <cyrus@daboo.name>, Rich Tibbett <rich.tibbett@gmail.com>, Mike Hanson <mhanson@mozilla.com>, Suresh Chitturi <schitturi@rim.com>, Pete Resnick <presnick@qualcomm.com>, simon.perreault@viagenie.ca, public-ietf-w3c <public-ietf-w3c@w3.org>, W3C Device APIs and Policy WG <public-device-apis@w3.org>, Peter Saint-Andre <stpeter@stpeter.im>, Victoria.Gray@forapolis.com, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>, Dominique HazaŽl-Massieux <dom@w3.org>, msk@cloudmark.com
+jsmarr as the "godfather" of Portable Contacts, who I know has a strong
opinion on this issue!

+1 for interest in resolving this issue, and coming out with a *sane*,
pragmatic path forward.

Chris

On Wed, Aug 25, 2010 at 8:28 AM, Marc Blanchet <marc.blanchet@viagenie.ca>wrote:

> - added Peter Saint-Andre, IETF Apps AD, AD for vcarddav
> - agreed. we should have a discussion, asap.
> - I'm available.
> - suggestion: create a doodle pool for conf call timing.
>
> Marc.
>
> Le 10-08-25 11:24, Thomas Roessler a ťcrit :
>
>  Hello,
>>
>> this note is addressed to various individuals involved in contact format
>> related work at and liaison relationships between W3C, IETF, OMA, and
>> Portable Contacts.
>>
>> The W3C Device API WG is working on a JavaScript API for address books:
>>        http://www.w3.org/TR/contacts-api/
>>
>> The API's contact data model is currently based on the Portable Contacts
>> data model.
>>
>> We understand that the IETF carddav WG would prefer us to base our work on
>> a model that is compatible with vcard4.  We further understand that the
>> vcardrev draft has been in WG last call for a while.  It appears that there
>> have been recent comments on the IETF carddav WG's mailing list that suggest
>> a discussion about alignment between PoCo and vcard4.
>>
>> Further, we have received a liaison note from OMA that suggests that we
>> possibly adapt OMA's Converged Address Book work.  We understand that the
>> OMA format is about to be frozen as well:
>>
>> http://dev.w3.org/2009/dap/docs/OMA-LS_877-OMA_COM_to_W3C_Contact_Fields_Attachment-20100823-A.pdf
>>
>> The W3C Device API WG is currently reviewing the various specifications
>> and trying to see in detail where the formats agree or disagree; that work
>> should be done within a week.  (Kudos to Rich Tibbett at Opera Software.)
>>
>> It sounds like an informal discussion about overall directions for the
>> various contacts formats, based on that review, would be beneficial in order
>> to see whether further fragmentation can be avoided.  We're willing to host
>> a phone conference for this conversation at W3C.
>>
>> The purpose of this e-mail is to see whether there is interest in this
>> sort of conversation, and whether there are timing considerations that we
>> all should be aware of.
>>
>> Regards,
>> --
>> Thomas Roessler, W3C<tlr@w3.org>   (@roessler)
>>
>
>
> --
> =========
> IPv6 book: Migrating to IPv6, Wiley. http://www.ipv6book.ca
> Stun/Turn server for VoIP NAT-FW traversal: http://numb.viagenie.ca
> DTN news service: http://reeves.viagenie.ca
> NAT64-DNS64 Opensource: http://ecdysis.viagenie.ca
>
>


-- 
Chris Messina
Open Web Advocate, Google

Personal: http://factoryjoe.com
Follow me on Buzz: http://buzz.google.com/chrismessina
....or Twitter: http://twitter.com/chrismessina

This email is:   [ ] shareable    [X] ask first   [ ] private
Received on Thursday, 26 August 2010 08:58:52 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Thursday, 26 August 2010 08:58:53 GMT