W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-identity@w3.org > March 2012

Re: Beyond HTTP Authentication: OAuth, OpenID, and BrowserID: Meeting on March 29th at IETF83

From: David Dahl <ddahl@mozilla.com>
Date: Wed, 21 Mar 2012 14:10:52 -0700 (PDT)
To: Jarred Nicholls <jarred@webkit.org>
Cc: Henry Story <henry.story@bblfish.net>, Francisco Corella <fcorella@pomcor.com>, Harry Halpin <hhalpin@w3.org>, public-identity@w3.org, Karen Lewison <kplewison@pomcor.com>, Anders Rundgren <anders.rundgren@telia.com>
Message-ID: <1964997426.15652135.1332364251969.JavaMail.root@zimbra1.shared.sjc1.mozilla.com>
----- Original Message -----
> From: "Jarred Nicholls" <jarred@webkit.org>
> To: "Anders Rundgren" <anders.rundgren@telia.com>
> Cc: "Henry Story" <henry.story@bblfish.net>, "Francisco Corella" <fcorella@pomcor.com>, "Harry Halpin"
> <hhalpin@w3.org>, public-identity@w3.org, "Karen Lewison" <kplewison@pomcor.com>
> Sent: Wednesday, March 21, 2012 3:17:55 PM
> Subject: Re: Beyond HTTP Authentication: OAuth, OpenID, and BrowserID: Meeting  on March 29th at IETF83

> > Mozilla's crypto.signText () is IMO a better JS+X.509 fit than
> > DOMCrypt.
> > They build on quite different principles.
> >
> 
> DOMCrypt can be whatever we want it to be.  Nothing locks its future
> expansions into being solely domain-based.

Indeed. There is no reason to rule out additional methods for working with/importing/exporting certificates. The WG is just getting started.

Cheers,


David
Received on Wednesday, 21 March 2012 21:11:20 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 21 March 2012 21:11:21 GMT