W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-i18n-core@w3.org > July to September 2011

RE: IRIs - proposed resolution

From: Young,Jeff (OR) <jyoung@oclc.org>
Date: Sun, 11 Sep 2011 11:01:41 -0400
Message-ID: <52E301F960B30049ADEFBCCF1CCAEF590DB43068@OAEXCH4SERVER.oa.oclc.org>
To: "Tom Baker" <tbaker@tbaker.de>, "Martin J. D?rst" <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>
Cc: "Andrew Cunningham" <andrewc@vicnet.net.au>, "Karen Coyle" <kcoyle@kcoyle.net>, "Felix Sasaki" <felix.sasaki@dfki.de>, "Antoine Isaac" <aisaac@few.vu.nl>, <public-xg-lld@w3.org>, <public-i18n-core@w3.org>
I repositioned the IRI sentence to sidestep the problematic claim that
all IRIs are URIs. It doesn't seem to flow very well, though.

     *Linked Data*.  "Linked Data" refers to data published in
accordance with
     principles [2] designed to facilitate linkages among datasets,
element
     sets, and value vocabularies.  Linked Data uses (Web) Uniform
Resource
     Identifiers (URIs) [3] and Internationalized Resource Identifiers
(IRIs) [4] -- Web addresses [5] that
     support the non-Latin scripts of Unicode [6] -- as globally unique
identifiers for any kind of
     resources. This is analogous to the library world's identifiers for
authority
     control -- and provides data using standards such as the Resource
     Description Framework (RDF) [7].  Linked Data defines
     relationships between things -- relationships that can be used for
     navigating between, or integrating, information from multiple
sources.
 
 [1]
http://www.w3.org/2005/Incubator/lld/wiki/index.php?title=Scope&diff=636
8&oldid=6360
 [2] http://www.w3.org/DesignIssues/LinkedData.html
 [3] http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Uniform_Resource_Identifier
 [4] http://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc3987
 [5] http://www.w3.org/International/articles/idn-and-iri/
 [6] http://unicode.org
 [7] http://www.w3.org/RDF/
Received on Sunday, 11 September 2011 15:02:31 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Sunday, 11 September 2011 15:02:37 GMT