W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-i18n-core@w3.org > July to September 2011

Re: I18n and Linked Data - an important (but fixable) omission?

From: Tom Baker <tbaker@tbaker.de>
Date: Sat, 10 Sep 2011 20:18:52 -0400
To: "Young,Jeff (OR)" <jyoung@oclc.org>
Cc: "\"Martin J. D?rst\"" <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, Tom Baker <tbaker@tbaker.de>, Jodi Schneider <jodi.schneider@deri.org>, Andrew Cunningham <andrewc@vicnet.net.au>, Karen Coyle <kcoyle@kcoyle.net>, Felix Sasaki <felix.sasaki@dfki.de>, Antoine Isaac <aisaac@few.vu.nl>, public-xg-lld <public-xg-lld@w3.org>, public-i18n-core@w3.org
Message-ID: <20110911001852.GA18211@julius>
On Sat, Sep 10, 2011 at 04:35:58PM -0400, Jeff Young wrote:
> > > Maybe it could be called "Uniform Resource Identifiers (URIs)",
> > define
> > > URIs, and refer also to IRIs.
> > 
> > It's unfortunately somewhat hidden, so you may not be aware of, but in
> > terms of technology, in particular RDF, what it calls "URIs" are actually
> > IRIs. Please have a look at
> > http://www.w3.org/TR/rdf-concepts/#section-Graph-URIref.
> 
> I think there is a problem with this interpretation. This document uses the
> term "RDF URI" as an umbrella for URI [with reference to obsolete RFC 2396]
> along with an anticipated IRI specification. The current RFCs [RFC 3986 and
> RFC 3987] don't seem to oblige this umbrella use of "URI" outside an RDF
> context.

When Martin wrote "Linked Data uses URIs. By definition, this includes IRIs", I
took him to mean that URIs, by definition, include IRIs -- very simple, very
clear -- and suggested my rewrite accordingly [1].  Is it the case that IRIs
are _not_ a subset of URIs; but that Linked Data, inasmuch it uses RDF, for
which URIs are considered to include IRIs, by definition includes IRIs?

Could this be handled by replacing [1]:

    Note that by definition, URIs include Internationalized Resource
    Identifiers (IRIs) -- Web addresses that support Unicode.

with something like:

    For the purposes of Linked Data, URIs include Internationalized Resource
    Identifiers (IRIs) -- Web addresses that support Unicode.

??

I'd like to please have consensus on the exact wording for this important
point.

Tom

[1] http://www.w3.org/2005/Incubator/lld/wiki/index.php?title=Scope&oldid=6372

-- 
Tom Baker <tom@tombaker.org>
Received on Sunday, 11 September 2011 00:19:53 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Sunday, 11 September 2011 00:19:57 GMT