W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > January 2013

Re: TAG Decision on Rescinding the request to the HTML WG to develop a polyglot guide

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Tue, 22 Jan 2013 10:32:17 +0100
Message-ID: <50FE5CA1.2010502@gmx.de>
To: Daniel Glazman <daniel@glazman.org>
CC: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Noah Mendelsohn <nrm@arcanedomain.com>, "www-tag@w3.org List" <www-tag@w3.org>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>, Aryeh Gregor <ayg@aryeh.name>, Lachlan Hunt <lachlan.hunt@lachy.id.au>, Ms2ger <ms2ger@gmail.com>
On 2013-01-22 10:03, Daniel Glazman wrote:
> On 22/01/13 09:55, Henri Sivonen wrote:
>
>> Either way, XML processors are required to support UTF-8 and UTF-16.
>> Support for other encodings is optional. In other words, other
>> encodings are not guaranteed to work.
>
> I think I 'm going to quote that next time I meet people from the
> book or press industry, or the service companies working for them.
> They will probably spend their whole day laughing.
>
> </Daniel>
> ...

Well, they may laugh, but Henri's correct.

Best regards, Julian
Received on Tuesday, 22 January 2013 09:32:51 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 22 January 2013 09:32:51 GMT