W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > September 2012

Re: Clarification of "Extensibility" section (Was: Re: Getting HTML5 to Recommendation in 2014)

From: Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis <bhawkeslewis@googlemail.com>
Date: Thu, 20 Sep 2012 08:16:57 +0100
Message-ID: <CAEhSh3cV4OX+8DsCXw6myGdqLezH0nNMFLJRKDTy6tVTTJfGuQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz>
Cc: Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, "Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net> (janina@rednote.net)" <janina@rednote.net>, Philippe Le Hegaret <plh@w3.org>, "Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org> (jbrewer@w3.org)" <jbrewer@w3.org>, Jeff Jaffe <jeff@w3.org>, Tim Berners-Lee <timbl@w3.org>
On Wed, Sep 19, 2012 at 11:06 PM, Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz> wrote:
> My reading and understanding is that document containg attribute "foo"
> defined in FooML applicable specification can't be conforming HTML5
> document because "foo" attribute is not defined in the core HTML5 and
> thus is not conforming to HTML5 syntax.

Correct.

> If this is intent then I see problem here -- documents using markup
> defined in extension specifications will be non-conforming HTML5, they
> should be as such marked by validator -- as a result extension
> specification will not be true first-class citizens.

"true first-class citizen" is loaded political jargon. Can you explain
what you're talking about and why it matters in more straightforward
language?

Validators can support extension specs by including them as options
for validating. (W3C validator already supports multiple
specifications, including extension specificiations, e.g XHTML +
RDFa.)

If extension specs define a mechanism for detecting that a document is
attempting conformance with the extension spec, then validators can
even sniff which conformance criteria to use.

> I think that this needs to be clarified. There is a large group of users
> for which validoty/conformance matters and it should be clear what is
> and what is not conforming HTML5 document.

What text would you suggest to further clarify that your
interpretation is correct?

--
Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis
Received on Thursday, 20 September 2012 07:17:46 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:34 UTC