W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > June 2012

Re: Selection of day and time for weekly HTML WG Media teleconference

From: Martin Soukup <martin.soukup@irdeto.com>
Date: Fri, 1 Jun 2012 06:49:42 -0400
To: Yosuke Funahashi <yfuna@tomo-digi.co.jp>
CC: Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>
Message-ID: <D7CE4C4F-92F8-46DA-87AF-E6F56D89F4E4@irdeto.com>
+1

Martin

On 2012-06-01, at 6:01, "Yosuke Funahashi" <yfuna@tomo-digi.co.jp> wrote:

> On Jun 1, 2012, at 10:34 AM, Silvia Pfeiffer wrote:
>> Has there been any thought given to weekly alternating meeting times
>> to better suit different locations on the planet?
>> 
>> For example 15:00 UTC one week and 3:00 UTC the next? In this way, you
>> allow everyone equal opportunity to participate.
> 
> +1
> 
> 
> Thanks,
> Yosuke
> 
> 
>> 
>> Regards,
>> Silvia.
>> 
>> On Thu, May 31, 2012 at 11:05 PM, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com> wrote:
>>> The results of the WBS poll are available at:
>>> https://www.w3.org/2002/09/wbs/1/html-media/results
>>> 
>>> The time slot that raised the greatest participation AND the least dissent is Tuesday at 15:00 UTC:
>>> 
>>>       1500 UTC is 8am PDT, 11am EDT, 5pm Paris, 11pm Beijing, 12midnight Tokyo/Seoul, 1am Sydney, 3am Auckland
>>> 
>>> Based on these poll results the WG Chairs have decided to convene the first HTML WG Media teleconference on Tue Jun 12 at 1500 UTC.  After Jun 12 this teleconference will occur weekly.
>>> 
>>> I will Chair the first meeting and will send out an agenda for this meeting before Fri June 8.    I will work with the editors of the Encrypted Media [1] and Media Source [2] proposals to set the agendas for the initial meetings.
>>> 
>>> In addition we are in the process of setting up a separate email list for this work and of linking the two Bugzilla components for the Encrypted Media [3] and Media Source [4] proposals to that email list.  Expect an announcement about the separate email list ASAP.
>>> 
>>> /paulc
>>> HTML WG co-chair
>>> 
>>> [1] Encrypted Media Extensions editor's draft: http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/html-media/raw-file/tip/encrypted-media/encrypted-media.html
>>> [2] Media Source Extensions editor's draft: http://dvcs.w3.org/hg/html-media/raw-file/tip/media-source/media-source.html
>>> [3] Encrypted Media bugs: http://tinyurl.com/7tfambo
>>> [4] Media Source Extension bugs: http://tinyurl.com/6pdnzej
>>> 
>>> Paul Cotton, Microsoft Canada
>>> 17 Eleanor Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6A3
>>> Tel: (425) 705-9596 Fax: (425) 936-7329
>>> 
>>> 
>>> -----Original Message-----
>>> From: Paul Cotton [mailto:Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com]
>>> Sent: Thursday, May 17, 2012 5:55 PM
>>> To: public-html@w3.org
>>> Cc: Sam Ruby (rubys@intertwingly.net); Maciej Stachowiak (mjs@apple.com); Philippe Le Hegaret (plh@w3.org); Michael(tm) Smith (mike@w3.org)
>>> Subject: RE: Selection of day and time for weekly HTML WG Media teleconference
>>> 
>>> The correct link to the poll is https://www.w3.org/2002/09/wbs/40318/media/
>>> 
>>> /paulc
>>> 
>>> Paul Cotton, Microsoft Canada
>>> 17 Eleanor Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6A3
>>> Tel: (425) 705-9596 Fax: (425) 936-7329
>>> 
>>> 
>>> -----Original Message-----
>>> From: Paul Cotton
>>> Sent: Thursday, May 17, 2012 5:47 PM
>>> To: public-html@w3.org
>>> Cc: Sam Ruby (rubys@intertwingly.net); Maciej Stachowiak (mjs@apple.com); Philippe Le Hegaret (plh@w3.org); Michael(tm) Smith (mike@w3.org)
>>> Subject: Selection of day and time for weekly HTML WG Media teleconference
>>> 
>>> At the HTML WG F2F meeting May 3-4 the WG decided to commence work on the Encrypted Media and Media Services proposals [1-2]. In addition the F2F meeting suggested having a separate weekly HTML WG teleconference to cover discussion on these media related items.
>>> 
>>> To encourage wide participation in these discussions the Chairs have created a poll to permit WG members and potential WG members to indicate their preferred day and time for a weekly HTML WG Media teleconference between the following three choices on Tuesday or Wednesday each week:
>>> 
>>> 1300 UTC is 6am PDT, 9am EDT, 3pm Paris, 10pm Tokyo.
>>> 1500 UTC is 8am PDT, 11am EDT, 5pm Paris, 12midnight Tokyo.
>>> 2100 UTC is 2pm PDT, 5pm EDT, 11pm Paris, 6am+1 Tokyo.
>>> 
>>> The poll is available here and it will run through Thu May 24:
>>> http://www.w3.org/2002/09/wbs/40318/html5-last-call-poll/
>>> 
>>> /paulc
>>> HTML WG co-chair
>>> 
>>> Paul Cotton, Microsoft Canada
>>> 17 Eleanor Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6A3
>>> Tel: (425) 705-9596 Fax: (425) 936-7329
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>>> 
>> 
> 
> --
> Yosuke Funahashi
> co-Chair, W3C Web and TV Interest Group
> Researcher, Keio University Research Institute at SFC
> Board Director, Tomo-Digi Corporation
> 
> 
Received on Friday, 1 June 2012 16:17:55 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:32 UTC