W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > February 2012

Re: Using an image map for long described image links [Was: Revert Request]

From: Karl Dubost <karld@opera.com>
Date: Mon, 6 Feb 2012 17:57:28 -0500
Cc: Matthew Turvey <mcturvey@gmail.com>, Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis <bhawkeslewis@googlemail.com>, John Foliot <john@foliot.ca>, Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no>, Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>
Message-Id: <A0C814AB-8FF0-42E4-9683-1579F094E385@opera.com>
To: Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>

Le 3 févr. 2012 à 02:58, Silvia Pfeiffer a écrit :
> Maybe we should introduce a general
> HTML attribute called @info or @iref or something similar that
> provides a (potentially secondary) URL to any element. This URL would
> be exposed when exposing tooltips by showing a special icon, e.g. a
> triangle with a "!" and people can special click on it (e.g.
> CTRL-click or so) to follow it.

How is this different from longdesc. It is basically what browsers could _currently_ do natively or through extensions.
https://addons.opera.com/en/addons/extensions/details/tellmemore/

-- 
Karl Dubost - http://dev.opera.com/
Developer Relations, Opera Software
Received on Monday, 6 February 2012 23:23:11 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:30 UTC